Registries!

Since it’s Christmastime, we’ve started getting some things off our registries.  We’re both really excited about this part of the wedding–not to sound selfish like “OMG GIVE US PRESENTS,” but, we need stuff.  We’ve been on our own for awhile, but we were poor law students and everything we own is a hand-me-down in some way or another.  Our dishes are mismatched–when we combined households, we decided Tim’s bowls were better, but my plates (which, incidentally, were once from a Red Lobster fire sale) were better, so they are different.  Our glasses are cheap Wal-Mart ones.  We have to rotate our toast halfway through toasting because our hand-me-down toaster oven’s top element is burnt out.

See?

So, we have three registries, at Crate & Barrel, Bed, Bath, and Beyond, and Macy’s.  We decided to do three because we have guests from all over the country, and not all stores are in all areas. Here are some of the things we’re REALLY looking forward to (hopefully) getting:

This is our casual, everyday china from Crate & Barrel.  When we were picking this out, our priorities were 1) a good, deep bowl and not a soup plate type thing, 2) a nice, big coffee mug, 3) plates with a lip on them and 4) something relatively heavy.  Luckily, we both loved this and we can’t wait to replace our old stuff.

Flatware!  Again, from Crate & Barrel.  We wanted something that was nice and solidly constructed, a little heavy, without being ginormous.  We’re big into substantial, heavy things.  All our forks have bent tongs right now, which is sad.

Wusthof knives.  I’ve actually been building my collection of these for the last several years–my mom brought me back their chef’s knife and sharpening steel as a souvenir on her first trip to Germany awhile back, and I was hooked.  I later got a nice serrated cake and bread knife from my aunt and uncle.   Then, Tim got me two for Christmas last year–a paring knife and a smaller kitchen knife–but we want to complete the set.  We still need the carving set, shears, and steak knives.

A KitchenAid stand mixer.  The holy grail of bakers.  Enough said.

Our fine china.  We don’t NEED this, but nobody in my family has fine china and, well, I want some.  I want nice dishes to entertain with, and I want them also for the family heirloom factor–I love the idea of having wedding china to pass on to our kids someday.  Well, not as kids, because they’d break it, but when they’re grown-ups.  You know.

Oh, pots and pans.  Ours right now are pathetic.  These are by Calphalon through Macy’s and I just want to rub my face on them.

A toaster oven!  I’ll never have a regular toaster again, because how else would I make pita pizzas and cheesy toast?  Our current toaster is halfway broken (one of the two elements is out), so we have to double toast everything.  I long for this.

We’re going all out for the vacuum–we’re registered for the Dyson Animal Hair version.  It’s insanely expensive and I doubt we’ll actually get it, but with three furry beasts around the house…we need it.

We still haven’t registered for bedding and towels, so that’s on the agenda for after the holidays.

Anyway, these are the big items–we made sure to register for stuff at all price points.  There’s lots of little kitchen gadgets, glasses, serving pieces and that kind of stuff on there.

What was/is your favorite item on your registry?

(Above photos from Crate & Barrel, Macy’s, and Bed Bath and Beyond’s websites)

14 Responses

  1. We have a lot of the stuff we need (well, also we are just not very picky when it comes to household stuff) but I can’t wait for my kitchen aide mixer either, and I really want a food processor!

    We got our silverware at our engagement party and that was REALLY exciting because our old stuff was pretty gross haha. It’s more fun than I really expected it to be to get things from our registry!

  2. We got that pots and pan set for our wedding. I love them! But there was a learning curve when I started using the saute pans because I was used to non-stick!

  3. yay for registries! its so exciting to start receiving gifts!

    I hope you have better luck with Crate & Barrell dishes but I will NEVER purchase CB dishes ever again and I never ever recommend them. My husband & I were given some CB dishes as a hand me down when we moved into our first apartment together 3 years ago. withinin the first week they started chipping randomly. It was annoying and frustrating.

    We now have Fiestaware and are so pleased with how they handle and look – no chipping! nice and sturdy bright colors 🙂

    oooh the elusive Dyson. Consumer Reports doesn’t really rate it that high – I would try a Kenmore Progressive – best value for the money but my sis in law swears by Dyson so who knows. I guess it also depends on the layout of your house or your house to be? keep that in mind. we have 3 levels and now we wish we had a canister vaccum – you live and learn I guess!

    love the china! good choice on calphalong – I did extensive research on dishes, china, cookware etc. I eventually settled on the cusinart Multiclad Pro dishes because it was the most similar to All Clad. I highly recommend all clad if you can get your hands on some – it is def superior to the cuisinart multiclad pro I settled on – I received a 4qt all clad braiser – I use it ALOT!

    • I’ve heard mixed reviews of C&B dishes, too. We didn’t really see any other ones we liked, though, so we decided on these. Some people love them, some people hate them–I hope we love them! My sister and a bunch of my friends swear by the Dyson, too.

      I would LOVE All-Clad but it’s a wee bit pricey for us.

    • Ooh, and also, we checked C&B’s reviews for this dish set and it’s a 4.9 out of 5 with 40ish reviews. A lot of the other sets have much lower scores so we hope this is a good one.

  4. Oh lordy, we’ve had fun registering. We are registered at Macy’s and Honeymoonwishes.com.

    I love the idea of Honeymoon Wishes. Basically, people can just contribute funds to our honeymoon but it is done in a cute way like they can “buy” us a couple’s massage or a scuba diving adventure or a boat charter or something like that.

    We got our first gift the other day. Set of knives from my mother. So excited. The most expensive thing on our registry is an espresso maker. But my fav is the dishes. I registered for Villeroy & Boch New Wave line and they are gorgeous!

    http://registry.weddingchannel.com/catalog/fds/macysproductdetail.action?upc=000004003683463816&retailer_registry_uid=311716217&sku_uid=300247420&pageidoverride=bride

    Dunno if that link will work…

  5. I was just updating our registry last night! We too are excited to have matching, pretty dishes. We registered for a mix of plain white and glass square dishes from Crate and Barrel, with the theory that we can easily get different table runners/place mats/ napkins to spice up our table and change the colors as often as we like!

  6. We registered for the Dyson Animal Vacuum too! Definitely the holy grail of vacuums if you have pets. I’m not sure what my favorite item on our registry is- my FI’s mother got us our kitchenaid stand mixer which I am super excited about. I would have to say my favorite item is the red le creuset dutch oven on our registry at Williams Sonoma.

    I wish there was a Crate & Barrel near me- that store looks so great!

  7. I’m looking forward to getting stuff off our registry too. We’re in the same boat as you with needing to upgrade everything.

    Our favorite thing on our registry was our Tassimo and someone bought it for my shower. That was very exciting!

  8. I have a Dyson Animal, and really, the only difference I can tell b/n it and the regular Dyson is the attachments. I think my Dyson does a good job (I have two small children and one cat in my house), but I’ve heard there are other models (i.e. Kenmore & Eureka) that are just as good & less expensive!

    Love the dishes & the cherry-red KitchenAid mixer! I LOVE my KitchenAid!!

  9. We have the dyson animal too. We’ve never had a problem with it and it seems to work great (we have 4 dogs). Wedding presents are sooo exciting!

  10. When I moved into my new place, I told my mom that I HAD to have a toaster oven as a house warming gift. It’s just a small cheap-o one but it’s still amazing. I don’t even use a regular toaster anymore. And it’s good for keeping my waffles warm in the morning! 🙂

    • I will never go back to a regular toaster! I actually saw that it’s been purchased off our registry already and I’m hoping we might get it for Christmas.

  11. We haven’t officially registered yet for our September wedding, but I am already looking most forward to my KitchenAid Mixer & matching silverware!

Leave a Reply

