I was right!

Well, last night I said that today’s goals were church, running, finish invitations, ironing, and a little bit of packing for Christmas…but that probably one of them wouldn’t get done!  I was right–we skipped church this morning.  Oops.

However, everything else on my list got accomplished without a hitch.  Hooray!

I started the morning out with a lighter breakfast and a run.  I did 3 miles around the neighborhood in 32 degree weather…not bad, but it was WINDY!  I also had assorted gear issues throughout the run, which was frustrating.

I was trying out a few new items and some old ones today.  I wore my new Target running tights, my new Zensah compression shirt (which I received from the company in exchange for a review–thanks, Zensah!), and my Spibelt, RoadID (review coming soon) and the usual shoes, socks, and gloves.

I know I posted a glowing review of SPIbelt awhile back, and I stand by that as of that time, but it’s only fair to inform you that in the last week or two I’ve really been having trouble with it riding and flipping around and generally being a pain in the butt.  I’m not sure if the elastic is stretching out, or what, but it’s been a wee bit annoying lately. I’m going to keep trying to adjust it, maybe let the elastic out a bit, and I’ll let you know.  I don’t think it helps that my inhaler is such a weird shape that won’t ever lay flat against my body.

I did very much like my new running tights.  They kept my legs nice and toasty.

I also really, really liked this new Zensah shirt.  I’ve been looking for something that would keep me nice and toasty, but still cool and well-ventilated, on colder runs.  It was odd wearing a compression shirt for the first time–it feels kind of like wearing pantyhose on your upper body? but I LOVED this shirt.  It was a weird sensation–I could feel that it was keeping some heat in to keep my upper body warm, but I simultaneously didn’t feel HOT or overheated, if that makes sense, and I was a little bit cool.  The fabric is super soft and stretchy, too, and it didn’t hold any stink in my post-run sniff.  My only beef with the shirt is that it did seem to ride up a bit and I had to pull it down a few times.  I’m already eyeing some of their other products–definitely give this one a try!

Then I went home and showered and finished. the. INVITATIONS.  I started out with the goal of making 100, but there were a few fallen soldiers along the way–pocketfolds didn’t line up correctly, I used one or two as experiments, et cetera.  So, 93 invitations are done, which means we have exactly enough to mail with not one to spare!

Our guest list currently is 206 people, but what with people living together and families and whatnot, we need 93 invites.  And they. are. done!  Time to move on to my next DIY projects: menus, programs, and lord knows what else.  I’m really a glutton for punishment, eh?  The final result:

The colors are much prettier in real life.

The rest of the afternoon/evening was pretty boring.  Ironing, bills, getting stuff together for Christmas, et cetera.  December is “Clean out the Fridge/Freezer/Pantry” month around here–we always try to eat down all our food stores so we can start fresh in the new year with new stuff, so it’s pretty bare!  I cleaned it down to the bare bones today–we’ll be eating some pretty random food on Monday and Tuesday!  I’m planning a big Costco trip when we get back from Christmas.  Fun!

Do you ever intentionally eat through your food stores?  When and why?

13 Responses

  1. Gorgeous invites! That must have taken so much time and effort… I wish I had that patience!

    I’ll have to check out the zensah shirt- right now I stick to the under armour cold gear but it would be nice to have other options.

    I generally do not eat through my food stores…I think I have some canned vegetables sitting in my cabinets that are over two years old. I need to clean them out! I think I either just get bored with a product or get lazy. I bet I’d be surprised with how many meals I could make out of the food sitting in our cabinets!

  2. They look gorgeous. Awesome that you finally got them done!

  3. Ooh, I love that running shirt!! I miss running outside. It’s too damn cold and icy to run here right now. Hopefully it gets a little more seasonal soon, it’s usually not this frickin cold in December!!

    I’ve told you a million times – but I loveloveloe your wedding colours. SO pretty.

  4. Wow I’m so impressed with your invitations, this is making me think I should get on these quick!

    Is there anything else you are getting done early? I am going to try to be super productive next week while i’m on vacation and I need ideas about what I can get done early!

  5. invites look great!

  6. Love your invites! I see Abermarle Swash and CheshireKat’s Monogram! You can spot a knottie a mile away. 🙂 I’m DIY-ing mine, too, so I’ll be feeling your pain in a few weeks.

  7. Congratulations on getting your invitations done. That was definitely a labor of love. They look so professionally done. I wish i had that type of patience. Where did you get your envelopes from? I love love the metallic touch to it.

  8. I love your invitations. That is my favorite color 🙂 I got married September ’08. That was one of our colors.

  9. The Zensah shirt sounds a lot like my Under Armour tops. I love those! They keep me so warm!

    The invites are turning out great!

    We never eat through our food stores, unless we will be gone for a week and need to get rid of produce.

  10. Love the shirt? Do you know if they have a size chart anywhere? I would love to buy one but don’t want to get it if it will be too small. Love the invitations!!

  11. Wow your invites look amazing! I can’t believe that i am going to be doing that soon! Crazy! Yours turned out gorgeous. Where did you get them printed at?

Leave a Reply

