Crimmus Preview

Hi friends!

Today was another uneventful day at work, without any romantic French lunches to break up the day.  Sad.

For some reason, I had a teeny tiny nagging headache at my temples all day that was driving me batty.  I took two Advil, but it STILL wouldn’t go away.  Yick.  I was generally feeling sluggish and dehydrated–not a great combination.

Then, at the end of the day, when I was changing into my workout clothes, I realized I had everything I needed for a great workout EXCEPT a hair tie.  Sigh.  I decided today would really be a good day for a weightlifting workout.  I’ve neglected strength training lately, and I want to get in a good solid weight workout at least once a week while I’m training for my half.  So, to the gym I go.

I did the following:

  • 5 minute run warm-up at 6.4 speed
  • Deadlifts, 3 X 12, 70 lbs.  (I wanted to do squats, but the Indian Bicep Curl Team had taken over the squat rack.)
  • Shoulder presses, 3 X 12 at 40 lbs. (alternating with…)
  • Lunges, 3 X 12 (each leg) at 60 lbs.
  • Squats, 3 X 12  at 135 lbs. (alternating with…)
  • Dumbbell prone Cuban snatch, 3 X 12 at 20 lbs.
  • Overhead lat pulldown, 2 X 12 at 60 lbs. (alternating with…)
  • Seated row, 2 X 12 at 60 lbs.

My body is going to KILL tomorrow (or at least I hope so!)  I stood up from my last set of rows and my knees just buckled!  This workout also made me massively hungry–I was dreaming of food the whole long drive home.  I chowed down the minute I got in the door!  Weightlifting will do that to you, I suppose.

You all know I believe in taking full rest weeks now and again where I sit on my butt and do very little and certainly do not exercise.  I took one in early October, when I started my new job, and it’s that time again!  I’m hoping to run outside on Saturday, and then I won’t work out again until the following Sunday or Monday.  I think every once in awhile my body just needs to chill, and Christmas is the perfect excuse!  We’ll be traveling and I rarely see my family now that we’re in KC, so I want to enjoy it and not stress about working out.  If the urge hits me, I will, but I don’t see that happening.

And I just realized I have not told you all about my awesome Crimmus plans yet.  So, here’s the play by play with photos from last year.

  • On the 23rd, we are flying from Kansas City to Chicago.  If all goes well, we will then drive about three hours to Indiana to stay with my aunt and uncle.  They live right next door to my cousin and his wife, so everyone conglomerates in two houses.  Between aunts and uncles and cousins and babies and grandmas it winds up being about 20 people.  On the 23rd, for dinner, we eat a big ham and pineapple casserole, which is the most fantastic use of pineapple ever, and drink lots of wine.
  • On the 24th, we each open one present.  My sister and cousin will inevitably complain and suggest we open two.  I will take the “con” side and we will debate this and I’ll win.  We eat a meat fondue for dinner with dirty rice on the side, and chocolate fondue for dessert.  Then, we put out cookies for Santa.
  • On Christmas morning, we all come downstairs and open our stockings.  We go overboard.  We had to invent something called “overflow bags.”
  • Then we eat breakfast tacos and pastries and we begin drinking coffee spiked with Bailey’s.  We look and see what Santa has brought us.  Again, he goes overboard.
  • Then, we open gifts.  We are a methodical people, so we go in order from oldest to youngest.  For many years, I was the youngest, but now I am only the fourth-youngest since there are babies.  Everyone opens one gift at a time and we ooh and ahh over it.  Last year, I was very much excited to get a Magic Bullet.
  • Once we are done opening gifts, we all make appetizers and munch all afternoon.  Drinking  continues.
  • For Christmas dinner, we have pork loin and German spaetzle.  It is fabulous.
  • Then, we play Christmas bingo.  This is a phenomenon in which we all wrap up a household item like toilet paper or Windex and play bingo to win them.  People are intense about it.  I always lose.
  • On the 26th, we are planning on flower girl dress shopping, and then driving 3 hours home to Chicago.  I hope to meet up with one of my bridesmaids, Teresa, so I can give her her dress!
  • Early on the 27th, we fly back to Kansas City, and it’s back to work the next day.

Phew!  I’m honestly not sure if I’ll be blogging on our trip–it depends largely on whether I can get wireless at my aunt and uncle’s house.  I’m not out of the blogging closet to my family yet, and I don’t know if I want to be, so we’ll see how discreet I can be.

What are your holiday plans?

Don’t forget–Chobani Giveaway ends tomorrow at noon!

4 Responses

  1. Your holiday plans sound awesome!

    I am the queen of forgetting a hair elastic but remembering everything else. I try to keep packs of them at work, in my car and in my gym bag so there is NO possible way to forget now…

    That’s funny you aren’t out of the blogging closet. I was in it for awhile but my family really likes reading my blog now 🙂

  2. My dad is coming over for Christmas Eve and I’m making Lasagna and we are playing games. Then Christmas Day, we’ll do stockings, breakfast, then head down to my grandma’s for a late lunch then go to my other grandma’s for dinner.

  3. We normally do the same thing every year too. But this year we have a little one so we’ll be doing Christmas at our house (for the first time) and then head to my parents for the day.

    Ugh I hate it when I forget a hair tie. I try to keep them everywhere so if I do forget they are somewhere in my car, purse, stroller, husband’s car… ect

  4. Awww, I love big family get togethers!! My Christmas is similar in that there is always way too many presents and lots of Baileys coffee going around 😉

    Me and my sisters usually all arrive at my mom’s place on the 23rd. On the 24th, we lock ourselves in our rooms to wrap presents. Then we come out to eat and drink together. We open one present too, usually from my aunt and uncle, and then we proceed to get drunk, play music, and into an argument of some sort 😛 Christmas Day me and my oldest sister wake the hungover people up at 7am and we open presents right away, have a big breakfast, then go visit my dad’s family.

Leave a Reply

