Bodies are cool.

You know what’s really awesome?  MILK.

I get plenty of calcium through yogurt and cheese and all that stuff.  But last night I got an insatiable craving for a glass of milk.  So, I had one, and it was awesome.  I can’t remember the last time I had straight-up milk!  Methinks I should do this more often.

I’ve been having a lot of strong cravings lately, and perhaps I’m just nuts and/or hungry, but I like to think that when I get clear signals from my body saying “EAT THIS” it means it needs something or other in that food.   Last week, all I wanted was almond butter and cheese, so I tracked what I’d been eating and it turns out my fat intake was low.  Awhile back I was bananas for bananas, and turns out I was short on potassium.   So, how ’bout that.  Three cheers for bodies!

We also got our first wedding gift!  This is the vegetable dish to our formal china set from my bridesmaid Lindsey and her husband Ricky.  Isn’t it purty?

I think something was left out of the nice note they included, though:

We are just crossing our fingers it doesn’t get discontinued.  We’ve heard conflicting things from various people at Macy’s, so we’re being careful and keeping it wrapped until we know more.  Our registry says that we should pick a replacement item, but allegedly it’s just because stock is low and they’ll be restocking soon.  I’ll be keeping an eye out and crossing my fingers!

Anyway.  Breakfast cookie for breakfast today, and then Tim asked me out (via e-mail) for a spur of the moment lunch date.  I bring my lunch every single day to work, and haven’t gone out once in the two months I’ve been here, so I figured what the heck?  It’s a beautiful sunny day, the week before Christmas, I have a mostly clear work schedule, and the temperatures are a staggering 43 degrees!

We decided on a favorite of ours, a little French bistro called Aixois.  Guys, I can’t rave about this place enough.  If you’re ever in Kansas City, it is definitely worth a stop!  I’ve never had a bad meal there, and it’s incredibly cheap for the quality of the food.  The atmosphere is really soothing–it’s like being in a spa–and the wine pours are generous.

It was a perfect place for an afternoon rendezvous!

Their bread and butter is to die for.

I can never resist their Croque Monsieur.  Since it’s a French restaurant, their portions are a perfect size for a light lunch.  Instead of fries, I had a tiny cup of French onion soup.  (When in France, right?)  I ate pretty much everything on my plate and still didn’t feel heavy or weighed down when I left.  It was SO NICE to see Tim in the middle of the day, especially since he was out of town for a few days.  We need to do this more often!  (nudges Tim)

But, still…I couldn’t resist a little chocolate when I got back to the office!

All afternoon I was super excited to go to the gym.  I was sore in the weirdest places from last night’s Cardio Max DVD–for some reason, my forearms, lower back, and hips were sore?  Weird.  I decided I’d run today and lift tomorrow.  Lifting lately makes me really sore (probably because I’m not doing it three days a week like I used to), so I think it makes more sense to do it the day before a rest day (Friday) than the day before a run.

So, I ran!  I ran 4.1 miles in 40 minutes, and then cooled down with a nice 5 minute walk.  It felt incredible and I felt so strong.  Running is so crazy–some days I feel totally incompetent and horrible at it, and then others I just want to keep going and going and going.  Anyone else?

What’s your favorite date activity? Tim and I did a doubleheader at the movies over the summer that was super fun, and we love going to zoos together when we travel.
6 Responses

  1. Ohgod I am SO sore from the NROL4W workout I did yesterday. How did I stay mobile through that program? 😛

    That’s so cute you and Tim met up for lunch!! Funny, Chris and I make similar comments whenever we get together midday. Normally we only hang out in the evenings. We don’t know what the other looks like in daylight! 😛

    This may sound boring, but Chris and I love to wander around town and kill time together. Go to the mall, stop by the pub, walk around downtown. Although, biking together is fun too, when he’s not leaving me in his dust 😉

  2. I hope you have lots of dinner pa too.

  3. I love that you said “methinks” in your email! I find runs to be the same.. well, really any cardio. Some days I feel like I could stay on the elliptical all day long. Other days, it’s hard to push it to 20 minutes!
    Since, with my current job, my time with DH is limited, I really look forward to our weekend dinner & movie night. We are also suckers for zoos when we go out of town. Have you been to the Atlanta Zoo? You have to drive through the ghetto to find it, but it’s amazing!

    • I’ve actually never been to Atlanta (other than the airport for a plane change). I’ll have to check it out!

  4. Our favorite dates are exploring things together — zoos, like you mentioned, or museums or the beach. We’re not big on going to the movies … we’d rather do that at home!

    I loooove French onion soup, and it looks like you finally found the perfect portion of it!

  5. I feel ya on the running thing. Some days I can just run and run. Other days I run a few steps and am over it. I’m definitely not one of those running for fun people. We love trying new foods and wines on dates. Sometimes we love just renting a movie and making homemade pizza.

Leave a Reply

