Productivity!

I didn’t work out today, but I feel like I did.  I’ve just been so gosh darn productive it’s mind-boggling!  My feet hurt and my shoulders and neck are tense and sore.

First, Tim and I got up early and went to church.  We both like going to church, but it’s a struggle to get out of bed most Sundays.  We made it, though, today, and it was really nice!  The decorations for Christmas were gorgeous–tons of poinsettias and a beautiful Christmas tree and there was really nice Christmas music going on.  It definitely helped get me in the spirit!

Then we made a quick stop at the grocery store to pick up the necessities for my baking extravaganza.  I always do a TON of baking at the holidays because a) I love to bake and b) I love giving away what I bake!  I’m bringing a lot of stuff to school tomorrow for a special holiday thing, and then on Saturday we’re having a Christmas get-together with Tim’s family in Kansas City.  I figured it would be perfect to make up a little something for everyone to take home.

First up? A triple batch of cake balls.  I started these last night, but didn’t finish them until today.  These puppies are LABOR INTENSIVE, but so good.  I did one batch of red velvet with cream cheese frosting, and two batches of German chocolate cake with coconut pecan frosting.

Then, I tried my hand at dog baking.  I made these pumpkin & peanut butter treats to include the four-legged family members in the holiday festivity.  (Milhouse actually needs to put on a few pounds!)  This recipe was super easy and Milhouse loved the results.

Next up?  Peanut butter cup cookies.  I made these once, forgot about them, and then remembered (thankfully).  Again, somewhat labor intensive and finnicky, but delicious nonetheless.

I love peppermint and chocolate together, so I decided to try making peppermint chocolate bars.  I haven’t tried one yet, but I predict they’ll be good!  (The batter and frosting were, anyway.  Whoops.)

Somewhere between the peppermint bars and the PB cookies, Tim left.  He’s traveling for work and will be back either late tomorrow night or late Tuesday night.  So, I’m living like a single girl for awhile!  This means lots of wedding/girly shows on TV and canned soup for dinner.  I’m also watching a girly-ish movie from Netflix, 7 Pounds, but it’s pretty bad.

I also managed to do two loads of laundry, tons of dishes, all my ironing for the week, several dog walks, and a bunch of invitation cutting.  Okay, I’m trying to talk myself into invitation cutting still.  God, this project sucks.  Is it over yet?

Get excited–tomorrow morning I’m starting a most excellent giveaway!

What’s your favorite holiday baked item? I can’t be loyal to just one, but my mom’s caramel brownies are high on the list.  Every time I try to make them myself they turn out horrible, but hers are always perfect.

4 Responses

  1. Oh my gosh everything looked so good! This year I am baking presents for my family. I’m trying to get them into a more thoughtful approach to gifts… We’ll see how it goes! I forgot all about treats for the pups! I’ll definitely have to include that recipe in my gifts!

  2. Oh yum. Everything looks so good. I can just image how wonderful those cake balls taste when they fall apart in your mouth! My fave baked holiday item is definitely sugar cookies! Yum!

    I thought 7 Pounds was really bad too. I felt like they were trying too hard to make it “deep.”

  3. Ahhhh! Cake balls!! I want to do some baking for the holidays too. I’m thinking a batch of both the cake balls and reese’s cookies will be necessary. I’ll also be making treats as gifts for the kiddos in my family. (I say kids, but the oldest just turned 16, whatever).

    My family actually doesn’t bake much over the holidays! My grandparents always send us 5 lb boxes of Turtles though. Sooo good, but my god, 5 lbs is alotta chocolate.

  4. Your post is causing me to salivate! It certainly doesn’t feel like Christmas until the mounds of baked goods begin to accumulate, I suppose!
    I love watching those wedding shows – and I’m so thankful that it’s wedding day Sunday on WE! Should give you lots to see 🙂
    My favorite baked item, sadly, no longer gets made. Every Christmas, my Nana used to bake us a traditional German stollen cake (minus the icky marzipan filling). I haven’t yet attempted to make it myself – I fear it will be a tragic failure – but perhaps this year is the year to try!

Leave a Reply

