Ice, ice, baby

Happy Thursday!  I’m glad it’s almost the weekend.  I can’t wait to sleep in, cut more wedding invitations (barf) and wear pajamas 24/7.

Anyway, apparently planning for my bridal shower and my bachelorette party is getting into gear.  I don’t know the details of either but I’m getting excited/nervous about both of them already.  I got a very mysterious phone call from my sister asking if I could take one Monday in April off work, and my mom requested a shower guest list from me, too.  I didn’t expect this, but I feel kind of guilty about both of them!  I know that having showers and bachelorette parties are pretty standard as far as weddings go, but I can’t help thinking about how much time/effort/money is going into these and I feel a little bit bad.  I know my family and bridesmaids are awesome and doing this because they love me, and I am so thankful.  I just hope they know it!  I’ll have to find some really awesome hostess gifts.

Anyway, moving right along.  This morning, again, the first cup of coffee I made was full of grounds.  WTF?  We have a Keurig.  Any thoughts?  (If it’s broken it’s not a tragedy.  We also own a french press and a regular coffee maker.)

I wanted to take a picture of my breakfast cookie, held triumphantly aloft, because I thought I’d FINALLY reached perfect hand-holdability.  But, alas.

I’m hooked on breakfast cookies!  They keep me full for sooo long and are yummy.

Today Tim decided to go play poker with some friends right after work, so I went straight home instead of going to the gym.  I did, however, change into my running clothes at work, so as soon as I got home I could let Milhouse out of his crate and we could run together for as long as he deemed prudent.  I COULD have changed when I got home, but the second Milhouse sees a person in the house he whines, loudly, to get let out of the crate and it breaks my little heart.   So, I came prepared and changed at work.   It was still pretty cold today–23 degrees!  See?

There is nothing like taking a riled-up beagle running ON ICE.  I should take a video.  He stretches first–a quick downward dog and child’s pose–and then just takes these huge bounding leaps, ears flapping in the breeze.  It’s adorable and hilarious.

 

We made a friend!

 

We only did about a mile and a half because I underestimated how very slippery it is to run on solid ice with a very fast dog.   I felt a little unsteady, to say the least, even though I didn’t hurt myself!  I have to say, I definitely feel like cold weather running is my thing.  I have always hated being hot–I don’t particularly like the summer, and love bundling up in sweaters.  And even though I like getting a good workout, I hate the physical act of sweating.  I’m going to need to invest in some gear–I have a warm compression shirt on the way, and a Road ID, but I’d also like a warm pair of running tights and gloves, some kind of hat, and some spikes.  (Any recommendations?)  I feel so peaceful when it’s just me and the dog with snow crunching under our feet–no iPod, no TVs, no cars–it’s perfect for me.  I wanted to keep going tonight!

I came home and made breakfast for dinner since Tim was gone.  He is a strict food constructionist–breakfast is eaten at breakfast time, hot dogs go on hot dog buns and not bread, et cetera.  Breakfast for dinner is my favorite!  Pancakes and bacon–yum.

Healthy?  Well, probably not.  Awesome once in awhile?  YES!

It appears I’ve tired out my running buddy and I am too. 

 

Are you a cold weather person or a warm weather person?  I’m definitely a polar bear inside!

8 Responses

  1. I am 100 percent a hot weather person! But it’s only been that way since I lost weight. Before, I hated being hot and sweating. Now, I love to sweat (well, not uncomfortably in dress clothes or anything) and bask in the sunshine.

    I went outside to run today but it ended up being more of an inconvenience than a run because I had to step over ice and dodge speeding salt trucks. Ugh!

    By the way, I’m Ashley. 🙂 I’ve been reading you for a few days, since graduatemeghann.com’s race photo contest. I love your blog!

  2. YAY on the breakfast cookie success!! Now I want one, thanks 😛

    “He is a strict food constructionist” You just described Chris too. He gets pretty horrified/confused by the things I eat sometimes. He’s really picky on food combinations too. He won’t even take a bite of my meal when we eat out together because I doesn’t want to ruin the flavour of whatever it is he’s eating!

    I am SO scared of running in the snow. I have a hard time walking in it, and I reeeeally don’t want to fall and put myself out of commission. I’m a wuss, I know. I’ve made the decision to save the money I’d spent on winter gear, and use the treadmill at the gym I already pay for. I think I’m a summer runner. I love running with the sunrise in a tank-top and shorts 🙂

  3. With the Keurig…are you using the K-cups or the feature where you can brew your own? I’ve never had grounds in mine before, but if you put the K-Cup in upside down I can see how it would happen.

  4. Athleta has some awesome gear, as does Title9. Right now Athleta has a fantastic hat that I would highly recommend…it’s made of polartec so it’s warm but nice and lightweight. It covers the ears a bit, and it has a ponytail hole in the back. It’s super cute and also functional and I love it!

  5. I love, love, love the cold weather. I enjoy the summer but I really feel that unless I’m at the beach or by the lake or canoeing summer heat and sweating is worthless to me! (Oh wait I forgot lounging by the pool too). Winter weather and the fall bring crisp air and warm sweaters and boots and jeans OH MY (it’s a fave).

    I also love breakfast for dinner and my boyfriend never seems to keen on the idea. He makes great breakfast treats too – it’s a shame!

  6. I’m definitely a cold weather runner too. I need to get spikes as well. I have been looking at Yak Trax. Here is a good Runner’s World article discussing some options for shoes! I think I am going to be running on the treadmill today – we got freezing rain last night. 😦

Leave a Reply

