Satsumas and Squats

Happy Monday!  Maybe I’m a freak, but I usually like Mondays, as opposed to Tuesdays and Wednesdays anyway.  I usually have a nice-but-not-daunting pile of work on my desk to keep me busy and usually the day flies by.

Today was pretty great for another reason.  Satsumas! (Warning: I really, really like typing the word satsuma.)

Since it’s the holiday season, our office has been assaulted by baked goods.  Bleh.  Too tempting and not usually worth it.  However, today, we received three giant boxes of satsumas!  I figured these were just like clementines, which I like but am a little “meh” about, but they were much better.  They appear to be some sort of tangerine/orange hybrid and they are juicy and delicious.  I’m not a big citrus person because there’s nothing worse than a bad, flavorless orange, but these were incredible.  I like snacking on stuff like this because even though it’s a mere 25 calories, it takes me a good 10 minutes to peel it and eat it section by section.  And, interesting fact, it has 70% of your RDA of Vitamin C in one tiny fruit!

I had two today.  And I took a picture but my camera ate it (/I accidentally deleted it).

In other news, T will now be referred to as Tim on the blog.  T was my lame attempt at anonymity, but really, T is not much less anonymous than Tim.  So, hi, Tim!

After work today, I was full of energy and knew I wanted to work out, but I couldn’t decide what to do.  I was having one of those days where I just felt like MOVING and making myself hurt in a good way.  So, here is my totally random workout:

  • 5 minutes on the treadmill warming up, running at about a 6.2 speed
  • 3 sets of 12 squats @ 135 lbs.
  • 3 sets of 12 shoulder presses @ 40 lbs. (alternating with…)
  • 3 sets of 12 single leg deadlifts @ 40 lbs.
  • 3 sets of 10 overhead lat pulldown @ 74 lbs. (alternating with…)
  • 3 sets of 10 reverse cable woodchops @ 45 lbs.
  • 1 mile run on the treadmill in 9:40

It was a good time and my legs feel sufficiently wobbly.

Now, for reading my post, here is a ticket to the gun show:

Just kidding. I am, however, proud of my upper body and I realized I’d never posted a muscle-y picture of me on the blog before.

But, here is a combo wedding and fitness tip:  focus on building up your shoulders if you’re having trouble getting rid of a little stomach pudge. Really, honestly and truly, this will save you a whole lot of aggravation.  If you build up your shoulders, you will create a nice V effect that will make your waist look MUCH smaller, and you won’t wind up looking like the Hulk on top.   Plus, your arms will look better!  It’s a win-win situation.  Trust me on this one.  I got tons of compliments on my “tiny waist” while wedding dress shopping, when really…it’s not.  I just have a little muscle on my shoulders, which most women don’t, and it makes everything else balance out nicely.

Anyway.  Two questions:

  1. What’s your favorite recent food discovery?
  2. Any fun fitness tips or tricks to make things easier?

6 Responses

  1. Woooooo!!!! LOVE the shot of the pythons!!! Dang girl, I’m also totally impressed/jealous of your squatting ability. You basically just squatted a Susan 😛

    I must also try satsumas. They sound right up my alley.

    1. Carrots + salsa. Wonderful duo.

    2. Work with what you’ve got. There are a lot of things I’d like to change about my body but can’t. So I instead do what I can to make the good parts look even better 🙂

  2. Your muscles are impressive. My arms are weak. My best example of this is my insane soreness today after shoveling snow yesterday haha.

    What kinds of exercises do you do to work your shoulders?

    • Shoulder presses are my favorite. I also like lat pulldowns (overhand and underhand grip), push-ups, and planks because they work a lot of muscles at once! Rotation exercises with light weights are also good, like prone Cuban snatches.

  3. Daaaang! I love love love chest presses… I guess it’s something about working the girls… Oh I don’t know. I really do like them.

    I just bought a box of Amy’s veggie burgers and they are TO DIE FOR. I’d rather have one of those than a regular burger.

    Congrats on being buff girl! Keep that picture around for when you need some motivation!

  4. I am totally with you on the office baked goods! When I worked at the vet, nearly every client brought in goodies and candy. It was absurd! I had to just avoid the one location that it accumulated.
    I am SO glad that I worked on my shoulders prior to my wedding day – especially in a strapless. The pictures pay off 🙂
    My favorite recent food discovery would have to be the seasonal Clif bars – most notably, spiced pumpkin pie. Yum!
    I don’t think there are too many ways to short cut the hard gym work, but I find that going to the gym or doing yoga first thing in the morning works best. You feel motivated for the rest of the day and it gets the hard stuff out of the way.
    By the way, nice guns 🙂

  5. A blogger from KC MO?! Horray! I’m in Springfield, MO. You are awesome and ur guns look killer in that pic! MEOW!

Leave a Reply

