Wedding update

So, right.  Somewhere in all this craziness there is still a wedding going on.  Hmm.  About that.  Nothing TOO exciting has happened lately on the wedding front, but here’s what I’ve been working on behind the scenes.

  • Bridesmaid’s dresses are in!  I have to go pick them up soon.  If all goes according to plan, I’ll be delivering 3 out of 4 of them in person over Christmas.  The fourth one will have to be shipped because my good friend Lindsey lives in Boston and I won’t see her until the wedding.  Sad.

  • Invitations. Basically, each invitation requires that I cut two 8.5 by 11 inch pieces of paper into four smaller pieces of paper with very specific measurements, and one sheet of vellum as well.  Then I’m going to have to glue/tape everything in place.  This will clearly be a lot of fun.  Thankfully, I’ve started well in advance and I’m hoping to just sit down and do 5 here and 10 there for the next month or two until they’re done.  We’ll see how that goes.  (snort)
  • I’m working with my sister to set a date for my shower and bachelorette party which will take place in Chicago.  I’m hoping they’ll both happen the same weekend, because it’s a really long trip there and back.  I’m really excited about both of these–it’ll be nice to set a date so I have something to look forward to before the wedding.
  • Our wedding bands should be ready to be picked up soon.  I can’t wait to see them and take a ton of pictures for the blog!

Things I kinda need to get moving on:

  • T is thinking of buying a tux, so we have to look into that.  We also have to set up an account for the guys who just want to rent.
  • After the first of the year, we’re going to update our registry to include bedding and towels.  I also think our china pattern has been discontinued, so we’ll have to find a new one.  Sad.
  • Our flower girl needs a dress.  I’m hoping we can go shopping with her around Christmas when we see her.  She is very cute and very opinionated on fashion!  Like me, when I showed her a picture of something I loved she immediately fixated on the shoes.  What a cutie!
  • The honeymoon.  We’ve been tossing a couple of ideas around (cruise?  Colorado?  Napa?) but haven’t made any serious plans.
  • I should probably decide if I need any special undergarments for my wedding dress.  I’m debating whether it would be worth it to purchase a mermaid crinoline for underneath it.  Unfortunately, the dress shop doesn’t have any I could try, so I may just have to risk it one way or the other.  Thoughts?
  • Oh, eff.  Favors?  Should I attempt to do out of town bags for our guests?  These may wind up being thrown by the wayside until the last minute…or wait a minute, hey, this might be a good mom project.
  • Anyone want to let me borrow something?  I have something new (shoes, dress, etc), something blue (shoe monogram) but still don’t have anything old or blue.  Hmm.

And this made me laugh, from my Knot checklist on this month’s “to-dos”:

Start taking better care of yourself. Get in wedding day shape by eating right, joining a gym, and/or even hiring a personal trainer.

At least I’ve got one thing done!

One Response

  1. Great job on getting the health part started! You are way more ahead than I was with my planning!

    I am not sure what you’re looking for to borrow, but I’m sure you’ll get lots of offers from your family! I can’t remember what I borrowed at all now that I think of it!

Leave a Reply

