Iowa!

Hi from the road again!  I’m in and around Iowa this time, a place near and dear to my heart.  T and I met in Iowa and I will forever remember it as the place we spent one summer falling in love, the place we got engaged, and the place we started our happy little family together.  (Cats, people.  No babies.)   Driving around here reminds me of all the various things we did in our three years here together and it makes me sad that I’m by myself this time.

I made a breakfast cookie again this morning.  This time I used less milk and added dried cherries!  Yum.  It’s not to the point where I can pick it up and eat it yet, but I think the third time will be the charm.  (Unfortunately, I’m out of protein powder and will have to pick up more!)  I also used peanut butter, not almond butter, today, and I liked the flavor a lot better.  I like AB and PB, but I think sometimes they’re better suited to different things.

Anyway, when your job takes you through rural Missouri and Iowa, you see things like this–an entire aisle of jerky!  (I could not find a single snack in this gas station that didn’t scare the bejeezus out of me.)

I broke into an Almond Fudge Clif Bar instead.  I ate half at around 11 because I was getting hangry and had to work through the lunch hour!  I finished up around 1, and instead of hitting up Subway in the town I was in, I ate the other half of the bar and drove an hour to my alma mater’s town for the best tomato soup ever.  I didn’t eat until about 2, but it was worth the wait!  I had a cup of soup (their cup is huge), a piece of bread, and a bowl of watermelon and pineapple.  Annnd they just happened to have my favorite bar, so I picked one up for tomorrow’s snack!

I will be at five different colleges this week.  Because traveling makes me a little sad and I miss T and the animal crew, I decided to make others happy with Operation Beautiful notes on every campus!

College #1.  Please note my kicky red winter coat, which I lovelovelove.

(Bonus points: name that movie!)

College #2:

At College #2 I had a rapt audience of thousands:

Oh, wait.  Dammit.

The upshot of nobody attending was that I only stuck around waiting for SOMEONE to show up for half an hour…then I checked into my hotel and did half an hour of Jillian Michaels’ Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism in a tiny square of hotel room space.  See?  I would estimate this is about the size of a yoga mat.

I forgot my sports bra (TMI) and almost threw in the towel and didn’t work out.  And then I realized how ridiculous that was, and that skipping the workout because of something so minor was something the OLD me would have done.  The NEW me works out in a regular bra and just holds the girls in place on the extra bouncy parts!

Now, I am off to have pizza with an old friend from law school and I will likely spend the evening watching Glee and catching up with the backlog in my Google Reader.

What places always make you feel warm and fuzzy when you visit?

7 Responses

  1. Oh girl I would have threw in the towel… But Jillian is so mean she may have came through the TV at you! Have you tried a little bit of mashed banana in your breakfast cookie? Sometimes that helps it to stick together… I always like to try to find little coffee shops when traveling. A coffee cup in my hand always makes me comfy!

  2. yay for Glee tonight!
    I have never been to Iowa but thats awesome that you have so many memories there. It’s fun to go back to old places 🙂

  3. Bridget Jones!!! I love those books. And Colin Firth.

    I have a breakfast cookie sitting in my fridge right now! I’m wondering if it would firm better if you flattened out a little more? I’ve also never seen that Kraft fluff! Is it puffed with jets or something? 😛

    This may sound weird, but i saw an ex-hockey player from my old university at my gym the other day. We always shared the weight room at my campus gym (lotsa good memories and hours spent in there doing NROL4W in my final year). I got SO excited to see him in my new gym! It brought back warm fuzzy feelings of those old days 🙂

  4. How did I not get Bridget!?! Seriously read book #1 again just to read #2 again! And then have watched P&P miniseries way too many times.

    “just holds the girls in place on the extra bouncy parts!”

    HA!! Way to be motivated!!

  5. Iowa! I am a reader from Iowa! Where did you live/go to law school?

  6. I’ve always eaten my breakfast cookies with a fork… I’ve never tried to pick it up like an actual cookie! How funny!

  7. Good for you for listening to the new you and getting in a good workout!

    And you are so pretty!!!

    My new home 2 hours away from where I lived my whole life is where I feel most at peace and happy… weird, right!?

Leave a Reply

