C is for Cookie

Breakfast cookie, that is.

You all know about my deep-seated hatred of oatmeal, as I’ve discussed here.  However, I’ve read about the breakfast cookie on several blogs and the idea has always seemed interesting.  My issues with oatmeal aren’t about the flavor of oats, but that I don’t like eating a steaming hot bowl of goo first thing in the morning.  Cold, mostly dry oats mixed with yummy stuff sounded good to me.   When Leah at Leftovers for Lunch tweeted to Susan at The Great Balancing Act about wanting to try, we decided to do a dual blogger challenge–mission: Breakfast Cookie.

I made it last night and let it set in the fridge overnight.  I used (roughly):

  • 2/3 c. oats
  • 2/3 scoop Optimum 100% Whey Chocolate protein powder
  • 1 T. almond butter
  • 2 T. milk
  • A sprinkle of dark chocolate chips

However, I wasn’t paying attention at one point and splashed in too much milk, so I knew my cookie wouldn’t be perfect.  Apparently you have to be verrrry careful not to get it too wet.

This is what it looked like in the morning:

But when I tried to flip it over it turned into this:

I ate it anyway, and put a little Marshmallow Fluff on top in Susan’s honor.  It was GOOD.  Thumbs up to breakfast cookies!  I’m going to try again tomorrow and be a little more cognizant of what I’m doing.  It was also incredibly filling–I eat breakfast around 6:45, and usually by my noon lunch hour I’m nibbling on my arm to tide me over, but not today.  I felt stuffed after this, which isn’t usually a good thing but when you need a breakfast with staying power, it totally is.  I will report back with tomorrow’s findings!  (Note to self: buy more protein powder.  And coconut and chocolate chips!)

Today at work I tried two new things.

Thing one was Oikos blueberry Greek yogurt.  It was good, but I generally don’t get too excited about blueberry stuff.  I’d buy it and eat it again, but I wouldn’t look forward to it as intensely as I would the strawberry.  It was very purple.  I was busy and forgot to take a picture.

Thing two was another Kind bar, this time Sesame Peanut with chocolate.  I wanted to like it because it was pretty and expensive, but it was hard and tasted like Chinese food.

Rather than wasting the calories on something I didn’t enjoy, I busted out a bar I know I love–Balance Peanut Butter.  It looks like cat poo, but tastes great!

Tomorrow I start a three day jaunt for work.  The downside is that I’ll be away from T and the animals until Friday, but the upside is that this time I’m hoping for a more calm trip than last time because I’m driving instead of flying.  I also won’t be doing much traveling overnight after this until the weather gets nicer!  Unfortunately, T is going to be traveling for work a little this month too but hopefully we won’t pine for each other too much.

I did take a pretty picture of the skyline on the way home from work.  (Traffic was stopped and my car was in park!  Don’t worry!)

Tonight I’m taking a little rest from the gym and getting in quality time at home before I leave.  We have a kiddie throwback meal (my favorite) of mac and cheese and hot dogs on the menu and some nice Netflixed West Wing.

Anyway, I’ll be back tomorrow–I’m hoping to do some Jillian Michaels on the road, but we’ll see!

Don’t forget to enter to win some Oikos here!

And because everyone else is doing it…here’s a November recap:

What was your biggest moment of November? My 5K PR was pretty great, I gotta say!

5 Responses

  1. I ran just under a 5k on Thanksgiving. I ran the whole 2.5 miles which was a big step for me. I love those peanut butter balance bars. They do look gross but to me it’s like eating a couple spoonfuls of peanut butter!

  2. Fluff will turn anything into an instant dream 😉 Happy to hear it filled you up!! I don’t know why people are so skeptical about that part, it’s essentially what I eat in a bowl of oatmeal, just squashed onto a plate. As for the liquid, I know in the video I say “sticky goo” or something, but it should really be closer to crumbly. It should stick to your fork when you squish it on to the plate (and then you can lick it after 😉 )

    Hmm…Chinese food and cat poo. Those sound like appetizing bars! 😛

  3. I haven’t tried the breakfast cookie yet but I might have to…
    I’m impressed that you make it from 6:45 to 12. I have to eat a snack around 10. Even just 100 calories can get me through.

    And you can TOTALLY win my giveaway, I really want to win too haha so I need more people to do it haha

  4. That breakfast cookie looks good! I made one myself a while back and it looked the same way? Is it supposed to really be like a pick-it-up type of cookie?

    I was beginning to think my experience with a KIND bar being too hard was a fluke! I will give it another shot if I get a chance, but they really are pretty expensive – I guess because it’s an import?

    As for big November moments, I guess the first time I ran for an hour straight (5.5 miles!) was a pretty big high for me… unfortunately I broke my stupid foot in the process.

  5. Here is another option for your oatmeal. You can mix the dry oats with your yogourt (which you LOVE) the night before and leave it in the fridge. The next morning it will be ready to be eaten and hopefully the texture would be something that is more enjoyable for you.

    Congrats on your 5km PR. I am also a runner and enjoy hearing your progress!

Leave a Reply

