Oikos Yogurt Giveaway!

As you all know, yogurt is one of my favorite foods.  I would guess that I eat yogurt five or six days a week.  It is my oatmeal.  I don’t eat it for breakfast, but one of the healthy substitutions I made early on in my weight loss was to switch out “fake” healthy foods like 100 Calorie Packs with a cup of yogurt, usually accompanying some kind of sandwich for lunch.

As time went by and I learned more and more about nutrition, I shunned my beloved Yoplait once I realized it was full of HFCS and other slightly scary ingredients.  Eventually, I fell in love with the high protein content and lack of scary ingredients in Greek yogurt!  It is still my yogurt of choice, though cost can be an issue.

The folks at Oikos yogurt were kind enough to send me some coupons so that I could try their products and give some away to you, too!  Oikos is a part of the Stonyfield Farms family of products.  I really respect their outlook on food–they strive to promote health and nutrition and to keep the planet healthy, as well!

I first tried finding Oikos at my usual grocery store of choice, Super Target.  I wanted to sample a couple of flavors.  Unfortunately, they only had one–vanilla!  So, I went by the nearby Hy-Vee the next day and found Strawberry and Blueberry as well.  I wanted to find the plain, but no luck.  Plain Greek yogurt is supposed to be a great substitute for sour cream.  They also have a honey flavor that sounds delicious but I could not find.

First, I sampled the Vanilla.  Greek yogurt differs from regular yogurt, taste-wise, in two basic ways (as far as I can tell): it’s thicker, and it’s a little bit more sour tasting than mainstream yogurts.  However, it’s also wonderfully creamy and delicious.  I tried a bite of the vanilla plain and it was very good–the vanilla flavor was very light but definitely present.  Then I made one of my usual yogurt bowls:

Strawberries, Oikos vanilla, and granola.  It was great mixed with these, too.  I could still taste the vanilla but it wasn’t overwhelming.

I’ve had the blueberry and strawberry in the past, but it’s been awhile.  So, I have the strawberry in my lunch today and will bring the blueberry tomorrow and update you as the week goes along!

All in all, I give Oikos two thumbs up for taste and nutrition.  The only thing that holds me back from being a regular Oikos purchaser is cost–the individual cups are about $2/serving (on sale!), which is a wee bit too much for my pocketbook given that I eat yogurt pretty much every day.  I will keep an eye out in the future for sales and stock up then, though!

While I was at the store, I also purchased a cup of Stonyfield Farms plain yogurt.  I’ve heard that plain yogurt is great for dogs and cats in small amounts to help keep the bacteria in their stomach healthy.  I’m a firm believer in proper nutrition for our furrier friends, too!  So, I gave some to Milhouse in a Kong as a treat.

Two paws up!  He was a HUGE fan.  Dogs shouldn’t get much–no more than a tablespoon or two at a time because they can have trouble digesting dairy–but a little bit on a regular basis keeps the healthy bacteria in their stomach functioning and happy!  You should also make sure to use plain yogurt and not flavored.

Oikos was generous enough to give me enough coupons to share with Fit Bride readers.  So, this week’s giveaway will be free yogurt coupons of your very own! Again, like last week you have three chances to win:

  1. Leave a comment on this post about your favorite yogurt concoction.
  2. Tweet about the giveaway and then come here and post a comment here saying that you tweeted.
  3. Blog about the giveaway and then come here and post a comment about it.

This contest will again run through Saturday, December 5th, at noon. Comments left on the Knottie Files feed will not be counted, so click through to my blog!

28 Responses

  1. I love yogurt with fresh fruit and bran cereal. Yum 🙂

  2. Now I just tweeted about the giveaway!

  3. I like to mix it with nuts and banana slices.

  4. I don’t eat much yogurt, but I love to throw it in smoothies. I do love greek yogurt though!

  5. I don’t need to be entered in the give away, but I did want to tell you that if you can find the plain Greek yogurt, adding your own honey is really my favorite way. Some Greek yogurts have honey that you can mix in, but it’s actually better to eat honey from your own area as the bee pollen can help with allergies.

  6. I like the plain or vanilla and I put some almond butter, banana slices and some Kashi Go Lean Crunch!!

  7. yogurt, flax, almonds, kabocha, and a peach!
    cinnamon to cover

  8. My favorite is a Greek yogurt parfait… a layer of greek yogurt, then bananas, then yogurt again, then topped with granola and ground flax.

  9. i love tons of different yogurt creations.i especially like greek yogurt topped w/ warm bananas cooked w/ light syrup. so good!

  10. I love greek yogurt too. I have found a slighly cheaper brand at my local grocery store. Its not organic but its all natural. Brown cow brand! Anyway I like to freeze my greek yogurt and eat it with granola mixed in. Great give a way!

  11. I recently got hooked on this stuff too!! I have always been a fan of yogurt and this stuff is incredible!! I wish it were a little less pricey though 😦

  12. Thanks for the very nice comment today 🙂
    Hope you’re having an awesome day!!

  13. I love yogurt with any kind of cereal or over frozen berries.

  14. Mmm…yogurt and berries w granola or cheerios…yum!

  15. I like it mixed in cereal with some almond butter thrown in… weird but good.

  16. I LOVE greek yogurt, and I add my own honey to it and some homemade granola..delicious. it’s sad that greek yogurt is so expensive.

  17. I love mixing vanilla yogurt with fresh (or frozen) raspberries.
    rsgrandinetti@yahoo(Dot)com

  18. For something different, I like making a dip by blending it with garlic, cucumbers, onions, and dill. So good in a pita!

  19. I adore the little cups of Oikos with honey but normally I just buy the stonyfield plain yogurt. Then I add a spoonful of honey and a sprinkle of granola. I have that every night as my dessert! It’s so fresh and it gives me something to look forward to!

  20. My favorite mixture is oikos blueberry with 1/4 c pineapple, 1 tbsp chia seeds, and some bear naked granola!

    I dont know if you have a whole foods anywhere near you but here they regularly have oikos on sale for 5 for 5 or 10.80 for a case of 12.

  21. Oh! I loooove greek yogurt!! I eat it straight up or with honey or with cranberry sauce or with flax seeds or with jam or as a topping on sweet potatoes or with cereal… I could go on and on and on…

  22. I like Greek yogurt with some Fiber One cereal mixed in.

  23. I love love love it with some fruit & granola – it gives it such a wonderful crunch!

  24. […] day to enter my Oikos giveaway is […]

  25. I just do Yoplait yogurt, but haven’t had yogert in a while. I am interested in trying your granola/yogurt combination though!

  26. I already posted once but since you love Oikos so much you should watch the video of my little one playing with an Oikos cup…

    http://changeofpaceforme.blogspot.com/2009/12/good-and-bad-food.html

    The video is at the bottom of the post. Her and my pups love Oikos!

  27. I like it pretty basic – with granola and bananas!

  28. Our dog loves yogurt. We used to feed her a teaspoon a day – it’s supposed to help them with gas from time to time apparently. (Our dog can clear a room at times) 😉 TMI, sorry.

Leave a Reply

