Manic Monday

This day has been kind of…all over the place.  I guess I’ll go chronologically.

I woke up this morning and on a whim decided to weigh myself.  In theory, three weeks ago I promise you I’d weigh in every Friday on the blog, but last Friday we were out of town so I didn’t.  Anyway, the last two times I’ve weighed myself I was 164.8 pounds.  This morning (and go figure, the Monday after Thanksgiving), I was 161.2, meaning somewhere in the last week and a half, I’ve lost 3.6 pounds.  Now, I know the scale fluctuates…but that is a pretty significant difference, so I hope it means at least a little something good.  I have been focusing on saying “no” and eating mindfully lately, so maybe that’s it.  Or, maybe my body wants more food?  Oh, who knows.

Then I got in the car.  My commute to work in the morning is half an hour, so I usually leave around 7:20 and get in the office around 7:50.  Well, a truck full of hydrochloric acid overturned on the bridge that connects me to work and suffice it to say, I didn’t get to work until 9:40 or so.  Worst.  Commute. Ever.  I had a few brief panic attacks, called T 3 times, and cried once.  (I’m a crier.  It’s a stress reaction.)

I sampled the Oikos strawberry at lunch, though, and that made me extremely happy.  I cannot think of a sophisticated way to describe this yogurt other than that it tastes like red gummi bears.  It is delicious.

Before stirring:

After stirring:

Post-assembly:

(Psst.  Don’t forget to enter my Oikos giveaway below!)

I worked all afternoon with a slight headache.  Since I couldn’t find the different Oikos flavors at my usual Super Target, I went to Hy-Vee yesterday.  Well, they have a MUCH better bar selection than my usual grocery store does.  And I went a little nuts.

Whoops.  At least bars don’t expire.

For my afternoon snack I chose a bar that combines two of my favorite things: almonds and coconut.  I am generally suspicious of bars that do not contain chocolate, but I figured I should give this one a try.  And oh my GOD am I glad I did.  This may skyrocket to the top 5 of my “favorite bars ever” list, which is a BIG DEAL.  It’s substantial and chewy and sweet but not TOO sweet.  Behold:

The only drawback is that these are pretty expensive…BUT, I think they’re sold at Starbucks, and I travel a lot on an expense account, so I know what I’ll be snacking on on the road now!

After my traffic nightmare, I needed a good workout.  I just wanted to run hard intervals for some reason, so I did.  Here’s the rundown (0% incline.  I get enough hills at home.):

  • 0-1:00: 5.5 mph
  • 1:00-2:00 6.0 mph
  • 2:00-3:00 6.5 mph
  • 3:00-4:00 7.0 mph
  • 4:00-5:00 7.5 mph
  • (Repeat above pattern 2 more times)
  • 15:00-16:00 5.0 mph
  • 16:00-17:00 6.0 mph
  • 17:00-18:00 6.2 mph
  • 18:00-19:00 6.5 mph
  • (Repeat the 6.0-6.5 pattern 2 more times)
  • 25:00-26:00 6.0 mph
  • 26:00-28:00 6.2 mph
  • 28:00-30:00 6.5 mph
  • Cool down

I don’t know why I don’t do intervals more often.  They make the time fly and I think they really do help with my speed.  It’s nice to run at an 8:00 pace and think, “hey, this isn’t so bad!”  For some reason, though, my shins were hurting a bit, which is weird because they didn’t hurt running outside this weekend.  Maybe something about the treadmill?

Anyway, by the time my workout had ended the traffic issue seemed to be resolved, although I did have to take an alternate route.  I came home to a lovely plate of roast chicken leftovers, plus cranberry sauce!

Love these little Christmas tree dishes.

What’s been your worst driving experience?

5 Responses

  1. Four years ago for Thanksgiving, I was driving with my brother from Ohio to Delaware. There was a bad snowstorm that came on suddenly in West Virginia. We got stuck in a snow bank and couldn’t get out. All of this traffic was going by, slowly, and I couldn’t get out fast enough to get back into traffic. I was CRYING to my mom on the phone (I’m a stress crier, too). And we couldn’t even get off the interstate once we got back on, since it was West Virginia and we had passed the last hotel for 30 miles already. We ended up making it to Delaware about 3am. That was NOT fun!

  2. wow that is some serious BAR HAUL!

    worst driving experience?
    driving in like the mountains in taiwan and every road is twisty. i got car sick. FAST.

    other time i was driving home what should have been a 20 minute ride. um thanks CONSTRUCTION for closing 3 lanes into one in the span of like 100 m. i was sutck tthere SO CLOSE to my house for an hour. FML.

  3. That KIND bar is definitely coming out to the front of my cupboard!!! I spy a chocolate raspberry Luna in there too 😉

    Treadmills give me completely different hurts than outdoors too. They’re a strange beast.

    Worst driving experience was any one of my practice drives with my boyfriend when he was teaching me how to drive. All of them ended in tears (I’m a crier too). Pretty sure if our relationship can handle him teaching me how to drive, it can handle anything 😛

  4. Those dishes are adorable!

  5. Ugh… worst driving experience ever, words can not describe. I was in hysterics, crying on the phone to my mom while Jodus and I drove for 2 hours, on a rinky dink 20 mile forest road through Montana.

    http://leftoversforlunch.wordpress.com/2009/09/07/the-road-to-hell/

    Really, pictures and words don’t do it justice.

    Here are more accurate pics:

    http://leftoversforlunch.wordpress.com/2009/09/08/and-she-keeps-on-giving/

    It was awful. I do not care to EVER relive it. Even in a 4×4 or whatever have you.

    (PS – Operation Breakie Cookie in progress!)

Leave a Reply

