Candy and envelopes and biking (oh my!)

This post is full of random stuff that doesn’t really go together, so bear with me.  Thanks!
Yesterday after my race I went and did MORE shopping, including the envelopes for our invitations.  Yay!  They are a pearlized gold and I got them at Michael’s for 20% off.  Hooray!

They are much prettier in person–a very light, shimmery champagne color that perfectly matches the backing on our pocketfold.

Anyway, today was one of those days where I sat at my desk at 4 o’clock and thought, “Ugggh, I do not want to go to the gym.”  I have no excuse–weather is fine, I’m not sore from my race, I’m not sick, I don’t have a million things to do at home.  I just wasn’t feeling it.  And I KNEW that I SHOULD go because today is likely the only day all week I’ll make it to the gym.  Tomorrow after work I have to rush home and bake for Thanksgiving and get the mac and cheese ready to go and do laundry and pack my clothes and the dog supplies and whatnot.  (We’re leaving for the future in-laws’ house right after work on Wednesday, and it’s about a 4.5 hour drive.  Yuck.)

So, I went to the gym and started running.  And, oddly enough, my shins began to hurt right before I hit a mile?  Weird.  Mama didn’t raise no fool, so I followed a generally good rule: if it hurts, stop.  My legs hurt a lot yesterday after my race, and I don’t want to piss them off again, so I moved to the bike and biked 10 miles instead shin-pain free.  Exercise is exercise! I used to get so mad if I couldn’t run for one day and had to bike or swim because I was injured, but any kind of physical activity is great for you and one isn’t “better” than the other.

I used the super cool video spinner!  I really love this thing.  I want a REAL road bike, but this is pretty okay for now:

I also get to gaze out at a soccer field while I ride/run/whatever.  There is a pretty good view of the city lights, too, but I couldn’t really get it through the window.

My tentative workout schedule for the week is as follows:

  • Sunday: 5K (check!)
  • Today: 1 mile run, 10 mile bike
  • Tuesday: as much of a Jillian Michaels DVD as I can muster up the time for, maybe half an hour?
  • Wednesday: nada
  • Thursday: probably nothing except maybe a long dog walk
  • Friday: I may or may not try to go for a run while at the in-laws’.  I’m not familiar with their area, but they live on pretty deserted country roads so maybe I’ll give it a try.  I’m also a little self-conscious around them.  We’ll see.
  • Saturday: Oh, who knows.

In other news, today I wore my new glasses and a new cardigan to work and felt very smart and Tina Fey-like.  Behold:

Man, that’s an ugly bathroom.  Anyway, I’m not really an accessories girl, but I have to say, I really like glasses.  My initial intent was to wear contacts most days and just use the glasses as a backup, but now I think I might do a 50-50 split.  (I also got lots of compliments, which helps!)

This morning I re-filled my candy dish with seasonally appropriate candies.  I have to say, you all know I don’t get the fall flavor craze like most bloggers do, but if there is a winter flavor craze it is my favorite.  To me, winter and Christmas means pink peppermint ice cream, hot cocoa, slightly smashed Andes mints out of your stocking, sugar cookies with icing,  fondue, spaetzle, red wine, and coffee spiked with Bailey’s on Christmas morning.  (Yes, my family gets toasted while opening presents.  It’s awesome.)  And I like all those things very much.  Anyway, I bought Candy Cane Hershey’s Kisses, thinking I wouldn’t like them because I don’t like white chocolate.  But I do.  Of course.  They are delicious and demonic, stupid things.  I also got cherry-flavored candy canes because they are much better than the regular ones.

Happily, today, I was able to practice moderation and only had two Kisses all day (about 50 calories!  Not bad!).  But they are GOOD, so consider yourself warned.

In totally unrelated news (again), do any of you baker folks have suggestions for my cookies?  I love the Cook’s Illustrated chocolate chip cookie recipe with browned butter, but they always flatten out super thin.  These are the only ones that survived–the rest had to be scraped down the disposal they were so thin.  What am I doing wrong?  They still taste great!  Help me out!

Don’t forget to enter my Thankful Tee Giveaway!  I’m cooking up another giveaway for a few weeks from now, this time for the athletes in the crowd…so stay tuned!

What flavors make you think of winter and the holidays?

14 Responses

  1. Video spinner!?!?!?! Seriously!?!? I’ve never seen one of those.

    Clearly I’m missing out! 😉

  2. Haha, just read your “things bloggers like that I don’t” posts…I do like oatmeal and pumpkin, but there is some stuff that all bloggers like that I don’t….now I gotta think of what that is haha

  3. In regards to your cookies, I found this recipe on a blogger’s site and these are to die for! Behold: http://heatherdrive.blogspot.com/2008/08/thick-chewy-chocolate-chip-cookies.html. I’m not sure if this is what you were asking for, but thought I’d give it a shot.

  4. Hey Brie! I read your blog all the time so I thought I’d say hi with my first comment 😉 oh and i’m getting married in 11 days..eeek!
    Anyway, on the cookies…if you haven’t already..check to make sure your baking powder (or baking soda) isn’t expired and that it’s been stored properly because your cookies won’t rise if it’s old. I swear by the terribly unhealthy Crisco Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe (on their website) or if you like coconut, these are awesome:
    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chococonut-Chip-Cookies/Detail.aspx?strb=1

  5. Secret to fluffy not flat cookies . . . CRISCO! Whenever we make cookies we substitute crisco (butter flavored or regular) for half of the butter. So for the typical Nestle Tollhouse cookie recipe, the recipe calls for 1 c. of butter and we use half a cup of crisco and a stick of butter (which is half a cup).

    This is our family’s secret to nice fluffy cookies!

    P.S. Google the Neiman Marcus $250 cookie recipe! Chocolate chip oatmeal cookeis . . . MMMM!

  6. oh man. i love anything minty, so wintertime flavors always get me — fortunately i seem to be better at moderation with these than I am with my big-time autumn vice, candy corn. Those minty kisses are so tasty though, and very dangerous! Do you have chick-fil-a near you? I recommend their peppermint chocolate chip holiday milkshake… but it’s pretty awful for you, so only every once in a while 😉

  7. I love the glasses – smart and sexy!
    As for the cookies, did you try refrigerating the mixed batter before baking? I find that doing so sometimes helps with the “melting” aspect of baking – but only slightly!

    My favorite winter/holiday flavors are cinnamon (but really, that’s all year..) and pumpkin pie spice. And when I smell the mix of onions and celery sauteeing in a pan, I know that Turkey Day dressing will soon follow!

  8. Wow, the spinner is very cool! I love pumpkin, spice, and peppermint flavors!

  9. I love the view from your gym! Mine overlooks, oh wait – it *has no windows*. But well done for getting to the gym, I always feel so happy with myself if I’m just not feeling it, but end up getting to the gym anyways.

    Re: the cookies, I am also on the baking soda/powder wagon – my cookies tend to get to thin if I put too much baking soda in, or not enough flour.

  10. The best cookies I ever made were from a recipe on the back of a chocolate chip bag, those companies will never steer you wrong 🙂 http://tryingforatri.com/2009/06/21/one-classy-feast/

    Yay for going to the gym anyways! That bike looks awesome, as does the view. You should totally get a road bike, then you’ll REALLY learn to hate the hills in your area 😛 I wouldn’t worry about the shin pain just yet. Even if it was just 5k, I bet you put a lot of effort into it and need a little more recovery than usual.

    Candy canes are probably my favourite thing about Christmas. This year, I’m also excited to finally be able to eat my mom’s meat pies again.

  11. Does your gym have foam rollers? If you use those, I bet you can get rid of your shin pain lickety split. Of course, it hurts and made me want to yell curse words while I was foam rolling my shins the first time, but it gets better!!

  12. Flavors I love for the holidays is cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves, eggnog, mint, yum!

Leave a Reply

