The lunch of my dreams

Today has been infinitely better than  yesterday.  This is largely the reason why:

A nice, well balanced, healthy lunch.  It never ceases to amaze me how eating well and eating poorly impacts my mood, my productivity, and my general state of being.  Also, I have an addiction to Gladware.  Can you tell?  These containers contain, from top left to bottom right: salad dressing, Chobani blueberry yogurt, spinach, granola, and formerly frozen strawberries.  (For some reason my slice of pretzel bread didn’t make it in the shot.)

I always shy away from taking salads for lunch because I have this weird mental block against them.  Like, my brain thinks, “You will  be hungry if you eat a salad.”  Not true, if I supplement it with the right things!  This lunch kept me full for a long, long time.  The contents?

  • Spinach (I always use spinach as a base.  It’s packed with healthy stuff and I like it better than lettuce anyway.)
  • Carrots
  • Dried cherries (I always add fruit to my salad.  I like a little sweet.)
  • Goat cheese
  • Newman’s Own Light Raspberry & Walnut dressing

I keep the dressing in a separate container and shake shake shake it up with the salad for a nice, uniform coating.

(Goal for next week: bring camera to work daily.  Use camera and not iPhone for pictures.)

And then I had my favorite!  A yogurt monstrosity.  Blueberry Chobani, Bear Naked Fruit & Nut granola, and formerly frozen strawberries.  (I eat exclusively Bear Naked granola.  I enthusiastically recommend Fruit & Nut, Banana Nut, Heavenly Chocolate and Triple Berry Crunch!)

I finished it all off with a slice of my beloved pretzel bread and a Hershey’s kiss!

Now, last week at this time I freaked out a little about weight and promised to weigh in on the blog every Friday.  This Friday, I weigh exactly the same as I did last Friday, which I’m happy with considering my lack of exercise time this week and, erm, other factors.

In other news, my sexy new glasses are in!  I’m leaving work at 4 today to go pick them up.  T and I have an evening of homemade pizza, Scrabble, West Wing DVDs and puppy cuddling on the schedule and I couldn’t be happier.  Tomorrow I’m so excited to be heading to an early lunch with one of my best friends from college who I haven’t seen in a year and a half (she lives in Cincinnati) and her fiance, who I’ve never met! I am excited to badger them about their February 2011 wedding like I’ve been badgered by everyone and their mother since we got engaged.

What are your weekend plans?  And, also, what is your favorite salad combo?

2 Responses

  1. I threw out a bunch of gladware when I moved and I have no idea why. I was in one of those purging moods, and didn’t feel like packing them I guess. Regretting it now!! 😛

    Fave salad combo is spinach, cucumber, red onion, mushrooms, green pepper topped with a salmon filet cooked in maple syrup and curry, and a balsamic/maple mix for the dressing. So good and so filling.

    Working the weekend – only three left! Have a wonderful friday night at home 🙂

  2. I am working all weekend.

    Love that you are playing Scrabble! Wheee!

    I love orange viniagrette with a walnut gorgonzola spinach salad.

Leave a Reply

