Fit bride fail?

Some days I do not feel like a fit bride.  Today is one of those days.

As you know, I’m in Chicago for a work related thingamajig.  Said thingamajig presented some interesting challenges.

Breakfast was a whole wheat bagel (okay) with a little bit of cream cheese (no big deal) on half with a bunch of fruit salad (great).

Lunch was my nightmare and I think part of the reason I sometimes panic-eat.  We were presented with an array of sandwiches, potato salad, fruit, and cookies.

The problem with this was me.  I am picky.  I have condiment issues.  MAJOR condiment issues.  (Tangent alert.)  When I was in grade school, I simply did not like ketchup because I thought it was gross looking (and still do).  It is red and gelatinous and icky.  Well, my classmates found out and thought it was HILARIOUS that I was so WEIRD.  And their response?  Open up ketchup packets at lunchtime and squirt the ketchup at me.  It would land on me, and my food, and I would freak out.  It was awful. Anyway, to this day I cannot eat condiments (ketchup, mustard, mayo, BBQ sauce) and I have an actual visceral fear of ketchup.  When someone is using a ketchup packet near me I want to vomit and run away and I sweat and my heart beats fast.  It is awful.

But anyway, let me backtrack.  Lunch.  These sandwiches?  Positively dripping with mayonnaise and various liquidy sauces.  Gross.  Potato salad?  Coated with mayo.  So, my lunch was a big plate of fruit, a Zone bar (eaten while hiding in the bathroom so I wouldn’t have to explain my condiment issues to people), and a cookie.

(P.S.: This bar kinda sucked.  I like the Zone dark chocolate ones much better.  This was super artificial.  Ick.)

Then we were stuck in Chicago traffic for two hours and now my flight is delayed so I won’t get home to Kansas City until 9 pm-ish, meaning that this will be, oh, a 13 hour work day.  I was planning on a healthy dinner and run or a workout DVD when I got home (which would have normally been at 6:30).

Instead I ate dinner at the airport with my co-workers.  I had a ginormous slice of cheese pizza because the healthy options looked like shite.  (Honestly, I swear, I was dying for a good salad—romaine, spinach, goat cheese, grilled chicken, dried cherries, and carrots with balsamic sounds heavenly to me right now).  I did at least manage to add a fruit cup to the side.  (Today’s theme is fruit salad, apparently.)  I did buy a food-related book to read, though!

Then, when I FINALLY got into KC,  I forgot where I parked my car and ended up crying on the phone to T, eventually finding my car, coming home and eating some leftover mac and cheese, wine, and ice cream.

Anyway, I’m feeling a bit down about it all.  I hate complaining and blaming things on my busy schedule, but…it’s been a hell of a day.

I think what makes me not a total fit bride fraud is that I felt bad about this all.  I WANTED to work out.  When I was sitting in the airport, I wanted nothing more than to be home with the dog running down my blog with a healthy dinner waiting at home.  Obviously, I have to work on my travel strategies…but, I know I can do this.  I know I can.  Tomorrow is a new day, and my lunch bag is packed with that awesome spinach/carrot/dried cherry/goat cheese/balsamic salad I’ve been craving, Greek yogurt and berries, and a slice of my souvenir bread.  Huzzah!

Anyway, I’m exhausted and cranky.  Good night!

What are your favorite foods to travel with?

 

5 Responses

  1. Sorry to hear you had a rough day! But sometimes we just CAN’T fit in a workout. That doesn’t make you a failure. Failing is when one day of not working out turns into weeks or months. I’m sure things will look a little brighter tomorrow or this weekend!!!!!! 🙂 HUGS!

  2. Okay, first, I get you on the condiment thing. Kinda. Although, I can’t eat mayonnaise-y sandwiches and salads because of my tummy issues. People just don’t get it, or care, and I’ve ended up eating bars instead of a “real meal” before too. It sucks.

    And when it comes to travelling, we can plan and plan all we want, but sometimes circumstances just don’t allow what we plan for. I’ll never forget when I was trapped in an airport gate for 5 hours with no food service around, and had to eat nothing but Luna bars. Ugh.

    On the bright side, today IS a new day, and yesterday will soon be nothing but a long lost memory. One bad day doesn’t make a whole lot of difference in the big picture. Plus, you’ll feel awesome when you finally get that salad today 🙂 Hugs!!

  3. Goodness! I understand about the salad dressing. I just hate having gobs of nastiness on my salad.

    When I was traveling last year for work, I got stuck in an airport (for like 4 hours) every two weeks. In order to make the day not a total waste, I usually do laps of the airport. I figure: I’m going to be sitting down for hours on a plane, might as well move around while I can.

  4. awwwww…. I’m sorry but this post made me giggle. Sorry you had a rough day. I hate when you are in food situations that you can’t control. And forgetting where you park? Been there, done that. And kids squirting ketchup on you? That’s awful! I don’t like Ketchup either. But I like mayo, lightly. And I’m picky about mustard.

  5. We all have those days! Just remember that you’re not alone 🙂 I hope that your weekend looks up!

    On a side note, I just started reading “The Omnivore’s Dilemma.” It’s been on my shelf for years and I am going to try to work through it this time so that I can follow up with “In Defense of Food.” We should have a book discussion when you’re done!

    I always have to travel with a bag of Swedish Fish for me, and Sour Patch Kids for the hubby. I also love taking a sleeve of Caramel Corn rice cakes on road trips!

Leave a Reply

