Happy Thanksgiving?

Today at work we celebrated Thanksgiving.  Basically, our employer provided turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy, mac and cheese and cornbread, and everyone else brought a side dish, drink, or dessert to share.  Last night I made brownie balls.

I was a little worried about navigating such a food feast, but set up a few “rules” for myself beforehand:

  • Load up on turkey.  It’s hard to de-healthify plain white meat, and I love it.
  • One small spoonful of the things I love.
  • Don’t try things just to be polite.
  • If you don’t like something, don’t keep eating it.
  • Eat special holiday foods, not stuff you could have every day.
  • Save room for dessert!

Here is what I wound up with:

Turkey, a small scoop of mashed potatoes and gravy, a slightly larger scoop of mac and cheese (it’s my favorite!), a scoop of something I think was stuffing but just tasted like salt and pepper so I stopped after a bite, a roll, and some fresh fruit.  (Veggies are absent because they were all swimming in cream soups, which I don’t find appealing.  I was hoping for a green salad, but no luck.)  The turkey was good, and so was the mac and cheese, but the rest was just okay.

Then I went back for dessert.  Instead of taking full servings of everything, I was that annoying co-worker who cuts pieces of things in quarters.  I had a quarter-slice of turtle cheesecake, a quarter-slice of regular cheesecake, a tiny scoop of pecan pie, and one of my brownie balls (I had to try them).

Was this a “diet meal”?  No.  Did I intend it to be?  No.  Did I follow the guidelines I set up for myself? Yes!  Did I eat mindfully and intuitively?  Yes!  So, go me.  I also didn’t need an afternoon snack after all of this like I usually do before the gym, so I skipped it, instead of eating it anyway.  I’ll chalk this up as a success.

In other news,  I am definitely feeling the burn from No More Trouble Zones so I wanted to do something more cardio-based today.  I love that my abs are feeling sore and ripped–core exercises bore me to tears, so I pretty much never do them on my own.  Also, my weird genetics dictates that I don’t really hold fat around my middle–it’s all in my thighs–so I don’t usually feel like that area needs to be worked since it stays relatively flat with relatively little work.   I really do need angry Jillian yelling at me to work that area, unfortunately, and she did not disappoint.

Unfortunately, after lunch my stomach started feeling nauseous…and crampy…and bloated.  But, I sucked it up and went to the gym anyway.  When I feel like going home instead of the gym, I just remind myself that I very rarely regret going to the gym, but I almost always regret skipping it.

So, I went and ran a 5K in about 30ish minutes.  I was still feeling gross at the end, so I didn’t go any farther, but I’m happy with what I did!

And, sadly, the blog-nouncement has to wait just a little longer.  Sorry guys!  Hopefully it’ll be within the next day or two!

What are your favorite holiday meal eating strategies?

One Response

  1. Ha, we may be hair twins but we are body opposites! My mid-section is like a fat magnet it. Even a 2 lb gain means I can’t button up my pants. My legs however, have always been really thin.

    I have the same holiday eating rules! Fill up on white turkey meat, try little bits of things I think I’ll like, but a bigger portion of the one side I love (stuffing!) and always save room for dessert. Those meals never sit well in my tummy either, but you did a fabulous job!

Leave a Reply

