I am awesome.

I’m positively bursting at the seams to make my exciting blog-nouncement, but I want to do it right, and thus you’re going to have to sit tight for a bit longer.  I don’t know exactly when it will come, but it will be soon.  (For people who frequent the blogs on my blogroll: no, I didn’t get a book deal and no, I’m not buying a DSLR, as those seem to be common announcements these days.)

Anyway.  Today was a test run, literally.  I started on my Advair steroids last Friday, and I wanted to give them some time to work before I really put them to the test and went for a run.  Since it’s been a week, I was anxious and itching to go—come 4 o’clock, my feet were bouncing in my heels at my desk!

At 5 o’clock, I changed quickly and went to the gym.  Of course, I arrived and realized I didn’t have headphones.  Lame.  But, I bravely hit the treadmill anyway.

And it. felt. GREAT.

I swear I didn’t even feel like I broke a sweat until 1.5 miles in.  I started out with the goal to run 30 minutes.  And then I added 5 minutes, and then 5 more.  I would have kept going, but it was getting late.  I was running on the treadmill in front of a window, and I could watch my reflection as the sun set.  Honestly, it was the most beautiful and powerful and strong I’ve felt in a long time.  Sometimes I feel a little vain, or guilty, for feeling that way, but I have worked HARD for my body, imperfect as it may be.  I love my shoulder muscles, and I just appreciate and love being able to do things like I did tonight.  I will admit that my chest was a little tight afterwards, but it was a VAST improvement from last week.

Total?  4.05 miles in 40 minutes.  I’m on Cloud 9 right now.

In other news, T and I joined Costco.  I think I’m in love:

costco 001

I LOVE yogurt, and I especially love Greek yogurt because of the high protein content.  It really fills me up.  Unfortunately, it’s also really expensive here–about $2.50 for a single serving of Oikos at Target!  So, sadly, I’ve been eating plain old Dannon lately.  I found this 12-pack of Chobani, which I’ve been DYING to try, at Costco for a measly $11.97!  That’s just under $1/serving.  Since it has double the protein of the $.50/cup Dannon, it’s obviously worth the extra cost.  It is SO delicious and now I’m dying to try the Pineapple flavor I’ve seen on other blogs.  Sigh!

Also note the giant log of goat cheese.  I love goat cheese.

Also, I bought a giant container of pickles.  YUM.

costco 002

And with that, I leave you!  Have a great night!

When was the last time you felt awesome about yourself?  Brag to me in the comments and don’t be shy!

5 Responses

  1. Yay! Awesomeness!

    (I think I know what your announcement is btw!)

    I ❤ Costco but our doesn't seel any greek yogurts. lame.

  2. I’m not sure if all the Costco’s have the same brand of hummus, but if they have the brand called Hannah, you have to try it. So yum.

  3. Brie! That’s great news!! Sososo happy the medication helped 😀

    Yay for a Costco membership! I’ve never even tried Greek yogurt before. None of the manufacturers sell it to Canada.

    Yesterday was an unusually good hair day for me, and then I got hit on by a cute guy at the grocery store. It felt pretty awesome 😉

  4. way to go on the treadmill!! I recently started to try to get back into running in the past couple weeks and have been doing 1 min on 1 min off….I was proud of myself to have completed 3 miles in 35 minutes…I want to do 4 in 40!! I am really going to try and push myself…do you have any tips on what to do to start running?

  5. not sure if that made sense, but tips for the beginner runner?

Leave a Reply

