Just call me Jack Kerouac

Because I’m on the road.  (Awful, I know.)

This morning started bright and early.  I wanted to be on the road by 7 a.m. because the trip to Nebraska was going to take about 3.5 hours and I had to be there by 11.  I had some toast with almond butter and was on the way!

Around 8:30, I started feeling drowsy, which is bad when you’re driving.  So, because it was my only option, I stopped at a McDonalds near the Missouri/Iowa border for an iced coffee.  I would use the words “iced coffee” lightly, because this was really just coffee-flavored skim milk.  I am a coffee wuss, and usually add sweetener and cream or milk to mine, and I didn’t need to add anything to this.  It was TOO sweet, and I only drank half, but it did its job of keeping me awake.  And full!  I was burping after half of this I was so stuffed-feeling.  Must be all the protein in the milk?  And hey, since I’m traveling for work, I’m at least not paying for it!

ne 001

I finally arrived at my destination and did my thing for a few hours (I ate a Clif Kidz bar as a snack–love them!), and then hit up Panera for a late lunch and to leech off their free Wi-Fi.  I was starving, so I got a bowl of soup that came with bread and a yogurt parfait (and a cookie for later!).  I only ate half the soup though–it was kind of gelatinous and gross.  However, I love these yogurt parfaits with Stonyfield yogurt, strawberries, and maple pecan granola.  It’s nice to know I can get my daily yogurt parfait fix when I’m traveling!

ne 002

Yes, I am a diet soda junkie.  I try to limit it to one a day, occasionally two.  It could be worse.

Then I went to my second school, where I was supposed to give a PowerPoint presentation to a group of eager future law students in this very nice room:

ne 003

But nobody showed up!  That makes me sad.

ne 004

Obviously, I sat around taking pictures of myself for a commercially reasonable period of time, and then left to drive to my hotel.  Hey look, it’s my sorority!

ne 006

I arrived at my hotel tired, but ready to MOVE after sitting all day long.  Luckily my room was nice and roomy, and I did most of Jillian Michaels’  “Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism” workout.  I enjoyed it a lot!  I love kickboxing, and this workout incorporated lots of kicks and punches and such.  I have to say, I think this is the perfect workout for travelers–you don’t need any equipment, and it’s basically body-weight cardio exercises.  I will DEFINITELY be doing this again!  I can feel my abs screaming at me already.

ne 007

Now, I am off to scrounge for dinner.  I predict I will spend my evening watching Biggest Loser and reading blogs in my roomy king-size bed!

What’s your favorite part of traveling?

7 Responses

  1. I adore King size beds and cable! We don’t have TV aat all (just Netflix) so the first thing I do whenever I travel is turn on the TV!! 😀

  2. You are hilarious with your sad face. I’m sorry you didn’t get to make your presentation!!

    I think I may have to take your rec on the Jillian Michaels workout. I like punching. 🙂

  3. Aww…that sucks that you didn’t get to do your presentation.

    I love McDonalds iced coffees. They are hit or miss though. Sometimes they’re too sweet and sometimes they’re too coffee-ish.

  4. I used to travel for work and I loooooved Double Tree hotel beds. My favorite part was getting to explore cities like Nashville and Seattle. I miss those days. Kind of.

  5. McDonalds brewed coffee isn’t that bad actually!! It’s where I go for drive-thru coffee around here when I’m desperate 😛

    I’m with you on the king sized beds!! I also love the free newspapers and continental breakfast 🙂

  6. […] I went to Nebraska.  It’s real flat. […]

  7. Hey! I just found your blog and am now busy reading TONS of your entries! Came across this one and I KNOW you’re a great girl now – Alpha Chi girls are just great, plain and simple! I may be biased, being an Alpha Chi myself!

    Love your blog! 🙂

    Lindsay

Leave a Reply

