On the road again…

I have to say, almost one month in, I really really like my job.  The people are nice, and aside from the very cold office, it’s a great place to be.  My work is interesting and challenging but not particularly stressful and the benefits are great.

Tomorrow I’m starting kind of a new facet of work.  I’m officially entering the world of the business traveler!  Part of my job will be traveling around random parts of the U.S., promoting our school and meeting with interested students.  I have to say, I am really excited to start this.  I’ve always been kind of a solitary worker, and the idea of getting paid for two days to drive around the countryside is really appealing.  Bonus:  I’ll probably work the equivalent of two and a half workdays in just two calendar days, and my employer wants me to avoid overtime, so I’m going to take a half day on Friday!

That said, there’s a whole host of challenges that come with this.  Staying in hotels, being tired on the road, having to eat out…who’s to say what it will do to me?  I’m trying to go in with a plan–pack healthy snacks, use hotel gyms, keep equipment-free workout DVDs loaded on my laptop–but honestly, who knows.

To get in the spirit, tonight I did a new workout–Jillian Michaels’ No More Trouble Zones.  I am a big fan of Jillian’s and saw great results when I did the 30 Day Shred in August 2008.   The bonus of working out at home?  You don’t have to wash a workout shirt, because sports bras are a-okay!

jillian 004

And you need minimal space.  Yoga mat not even required.

jillian 005

As all of Jillian’s workouts are (which is why I’m a fan), this was HARD!  I did abotu 35 minutes and then had to stop.  I theoretically could have done more, but my stomach was rumbling since it was right before dinner.  I know I’ll be sore tomorrow!  I’m planning to do her weight-free new DVD tomorrow in my hotel room, or maybe hit up the hotel gym if it’s nice.  Who knows?

In other news, I bought new wedding earrings.  Thoughts?

jillian 002

I’m not TOTALLY sold on them, but they match well and I think I like them.

What are your on the road fitness tips?

4 Responses

  1. Those earrings are pretty!

  2. I did stint of living in a hotel for 3 months last year. I had healthy snacks in the room (bananas, popcorn, etc.). I came home every night and went to the little hotel gym. I was on site and had a microwave only for lunch. So I had lean cuisines and soups a lot.
    Good luck!

  3. I absolutely love the earrings – but I’ve always been a fan of chandeliers. Is the Jillian workout the new one for the Wii? I’d love to get it!

  4. I need to pick up some of Jillian’s DVDs. I hear nothing but great things about them, and I bet they’ll be perfect for this winter when blizzards and crazy cold temperatures keep me indoors 🙂

    So fun you get to travel for work! Sounds like you already have a stellar plan in place. I always like to travel with a jump rope too, makes for a good cardio intervals in a hotel room 🙂

    LOVE the earrings!

Leave a Reply

