Civic duties

Happy Election Day! (Even though this year’s is far less exciting than last.)  Since I wanted to vote, I needed a quick workout. I am beginning to sense a theme in my exercise habits; namely, 30 Minute Workouts That Are Intense But Do Not Irritate My Lungs. Today was no exception! But first, check out my cool sticker:

vote 001

After work, obvs, I headed to the gym for a 30MWTAIBDNIML. Honestly, I’m learning that I’m not one that can write out a workout schedule—usually around 3 o’clock I’ll start thinking, “Hmm, what sounds good today?” about both a workout and dinner. Yesterday, I instantly thought “Elliptical!” and today, I instantly thought, “Weightlifting!” Since my shoulder tweaking has recovered, I’ve gotten in exactly one weights workout. Fail. So, I went in with a plan today—intense, will make me sore, but not overly taxing to my cardiovascular system.

I ended up doing:

  • 5 minute warmup run
  • 3 sets of 12 squats at 125 lbs. (I love squats because they honestly help me run faster. They also perk up my butt quite nicely, which is important to Ronda.)
  • 3 sets of 12 overhead push presses (40 lbs.) alternating with 3 sets of single leg deadlifts (also 40 lbs.) (alternating upper and lower body sets keeps the blood flowing and gives your muscles a little more recovery time)
  • 3 sets of lat pulldowns (75 lbs) alternating with 3 sets of lunges, rear foot elevated (40 lbs.)
  • 5 minute run

And I stopped my Polar at almost exactly 30:00.  Mission accomplished!

Let me tell you, those people who complain about how weightlifting doesn’t get your heart rate up…it’s crap.  Mine was up in the 160s the whole time because I was barely resting between sets.  Alternating muscle groups allows the specific muscle to rest, while keeping your heart pumping.  I KNOW I’m going to feel this workout tomorrow!

Also, welcome T to the world of running!  He’s just starting out but I know he’s going to be great and I can’t wait to be one of those irritating Couples That Jog Together.  Hooray for T!

Do you vote?  Did you vote today?

4 Responses

  1. Yay for voting! Although, we don’t have fixed election dates in Canada so who knows when I’ll vote again! Actually, one year the federal election was on my birthday. There was some geeky celebration 🙂

    Love that 30 minute workout!!! I do alternating sets to keep my heart rate up too. Or, I like to do moves that work lower and upper body and the same time, I find my heart rate is always higher when legs are involved.

    Chris ran twice and gave up because he said it hurt his knees. I’ll never get that man off his bicycle 😛

  2. I don’t vote. I’m pessimistic about the government.

  3. Good luck to T!

    And congrats on voting – the election in Norway was in September, but unfortunately we ended up with the same coalition as before. But at least I tried!

    I am a believer in that that if you don’t vote, you have no right to complain about those in power, because you didn’t do anything to prevent it from happening.

    Voting will always be frustrating (at least I find it to be) because regardless of the options, I never agree entirely with one party/person. But it’s all about making your vote count, and go for the one you agree with the most.

    Wow. Long comment. Sorry about that.

  4. I’m terrible! I didn’t vote in my state this election. Agreed, not as exciting as last, but I always vote! The day got away from me and it came down to gym or vote. I went with gym!

    And whoa baby on the lifting getting the heart rate up – I worked out with my trainer this morning and we did no cardio, all lifting and I was thumping the whole time!

Leave a Reply

