Terrible, horrible, no good very bad day

Today was one.

It actually started right at midnight, when the dog started barking (for the first time ever–we’ve never heard him bark before) because the neighbors had some kind of tow truck ruckus going on in their driveway.  Obviously, this woke me up and discombobulated me altogether.

Then, I had to be at work at 7 a.m. to set up for a big event.  Since there’s a half hour commute and a dog walk involved, and I usually snooze twice, this means my alarm went off at 5 a.m…awesome.  Got up, walked the dog, left, fine.  Oh, and it has been pouring rain all day, just to set the scene.

Let me disclaim this with I like my job and this in no way means I don’t like it anymore.  In fact, I do like it, and today’s shortcomings were pretty much entirely my fault.

First of all, I didn’t realize I’d be literally on my feet all day.  My cute heels are fine for everyday work, because I’m mostly at my desk.  But I was running up and down halls, hauling tables and chairs, etc.  And my feet were KILLING me.  They are actually swollen right now and hurt a whole bunch.  I am dying to buy a pair of the Cole Haan heels with the Nike Air stuff inside, but…they’re expensive.  Poop.

Then there was the food issue.  Because of the nature of my job, when there are big events I can’t really sit down to a  nice lunch.  There were boxed lunches with slimy gross deli meat sandwiches anyway.  So…naturally, I just let myself get really hungry HOPING I’d make it until 2 when the event was over to have my almond butter and jam sandwich I’d packed. I always panic when I get hungry, so, what do I do?  Eat a bag of chips, and a donut, both scarfed quickly in .25 seconds each.   Neither item is remotely satiating and they both just make me feel gross.  Awesome.

THEN, once the event is over I get an e-mail from T.  I left before he was awake this morning and assumed he’d feed the dog when he got up…but he had assumed I’d fed him before I left.  Oops.  So, I feel awful, knowing our dog is crated and probably even hungrier than I was.  And I’m exhausted.

So, after a 9.2 hour workday with no breaks my boss finally said “You look exhausted.  Go home.”  And I did.  I don’t feel remotely bad about not working out.  I can barely fathom getting up off the couch to go make dinner right now.  My pants are soaking wet from walking the dog in the rain and as soon as T gets home I’m going to take a nice, long, hot shower and put on clean, dry PJs before a nice warm dinner.  My bedtime tonight will probably be about 8:00.  Please excuse the lack of pictures–this has not been a day I care to document!

Anyway, what’s your best remedy for turning a bad day around when you’re in no state to work out?

 

3 Responses

  1. Blech. I feel you on the crummy day. Mine was more emotionally draining than physically so. Either way, I am currently sitting on the couch, eating chocolate, when I should be working out. What does that tell you about my bad-day-remedies?

  2. My remedy is rest. If I am in a bad mood and physically tired, then I watch TV and save up my energy for another day.

  3. Ahhh, yes, I totally get you on days like that. I do not handle being hungry well either, and it always makes a really busy day much worse for me!

    I do the same as you. I just take my bad day for what it was and try to spend what little hours of free time I have left resting and doing things I enjoy. Usually, that’s laying immobile on the couch reading Twilight or watching reality TV 😛

Leave a Reply

