New gym!

New gyms are exciting, but in an awkward, first day of high school kind of way.  Except instead of cafeteria seats, the issue is which treadmill to pick.  Do you want to run next to Sweaty Guy, or Ambling Old Woman, or Heavily Perfumed Teen?  Who should you avoid?  (At my last gym, it was Woman With Toddler Seeking Friend To Become Babysitter and Man Who Grunts.)  I was filled with anxious anticipation all day long.

Anyway, all day I couldn’t make up my mind as to what I wanted to do.  I brought general cardio clothes, so swimming was definitely out.  (Also, the fact that I am a crap swimmer.  I can do lots of backstroke laps, though.  Does that count?  I might do that later this week.)  I couldn’t decide whether I wanted to try running on the swanky treadmills with the iPod syncing and television screens, running on the indoor track, other cardio, or weights.  So many choices!

Ultimately, I decided to run because ohmygodI’mrunningan8KonSunday.  Whoops.  Haven’t done a whole lot of running for the last two weeks, so yeah, I needed to do that if for no other reason than to build up a little confidence.  It doesn’t help that this looks like a kind of hilly 8K, and it’s been too cold and dark/I’ve been working/cold makes me wheezy for me to conquer the ones in my neighborhood lately.

But first, around 4, I had a pre-workout snack.  I warmed it up and it melted, kind of.  It was good, but I’m not a big white chocolate person.

gym 002

Then I went to the gym and changed!

gym 003

And then I ran on the fancy pants treadmill. It is hard to take a picture while running.  FYI.

gym 004

And…it kind of sucked.   I ran two miles and then I felt like I was being strangled.  I really, really need to go to a doctor and get this whole asthma thing checked out.  I’m hesitating because I’m being self-loathing and thinking that it’s my fault and I’m out of shape.  Logically, that seems incorrect, but it also seems logically incorrect that suddenly my asthma would be back for no reason.  Sigh.  I then did about 15 minutes on the stairmaster and ran a lap on the track just to see if I liked it (I did).  I do not feel great about my race on Sunday AT ALL right now.

Anyway, it’s a very nice gym and I think I’ll like it once I get my various lung issues in order.  The track was a fun way to run that was a little different than the treadmill, and the people seemed nice and there was plenty of room.  And towel service!

What do you do when you’re having health issues?  How do you deal with it mentally?

3 Responses

  1. I obviously don’t handle medical ailments well. Anyone who reads my blog can tell you that. I feel your pain. It puts a huge mental yuck in ky brain and leads to a massive lack in motivation.

  2. I try to take of things with home remedies but usually just end up going to the doctor.

  3. YAY for new gym!! Big BOO for wheezing 😦 I don’t have a doctor, which means I have to go to an after hours clinic and wait with sick people for at least four hours to be looked at for three minutes by a surly doc. Actually, the doctor shortage is a HUGE issue in my province. I just had to put off my annual pap smear and breast exam for three months because there is no one to perform it. Not the end of the world, but I’m extremely high risk for breast cancer, and those annual exams are really important. Aaannnyways, so yeah, I just say a prayer and hope it whatever it is goes away 😛

    I’m not the biggest fan of white chocolate either. It just tastes like…sweet. Nothing special.

Leave a Reply

