The best spaghetti sauce you will ever eat

So, this is a secret, treasured family recipe.  And I’m sharing it with you.  You should be honored, and then immediately proceed to your kitchen to make this.  My mother makes a double batch of this every year the day after Thanksgiving, and my whole extended family has a big pasta dinner after a tough day at the Black Friday sales.  It is incredible, and I’m pretty sure it’s also incredibly healthy–lots of veggies, and you can use very lean beef or ground turkey, and far less sodium than store-bought spaghetti sauce.

Once in awhile I make a batch for me and T and freeze it so we can have high quality spaghetti sauce.  We’re out, so it’s about that time again.  Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 -28 oz. can tomato puree
  • 21 oz. water
  • 2 Tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 lb. ground beef (I’ve also used ground turkey with good results)
  • 1 onion, diced fine
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 – 1 green pepper diced fine
  • 1 can mushrooms
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon basil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon rosemary
  • 1/2 teaspoon marjoram
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tablespoon sugar

And my mom’s instructions: put tomato puree, water, tomato paste, mushrooms and spices in a pot.  Brown ground beef in a pan adding 1 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper per pound(this is in addition to the salt and pepper you put in your tomato puree and water).

random 003

Drain and add to the tomato puree and water mixture.  Saute onion, green pepper and garlic.  (Brie note: we leave out the green pepper because we don’t like it.)  I add a little water so it doesn’t stick.  You can either add a little water and then drain it and add to your sauce OR you can use a couple of ounces from the 21 and then you don’t have to bother draining it.

random 004

I usually taste it after everything is put together because the salt and sugar is crucial to the flavor.  You may have to add a little more salt and/or sugar to get the flavor just right.

random 013

This stuff is seriously good.  It spoils me.  I don’t want to eat pasta sauce from a jar after this.  Make it.  Trust me.

In other news, tomorrow I’m going to my new gym for the first time.  I’m excited.  Also, (holy crap) I’m running an 8K in a week.  I don’t feel prepared at all, but I think it’s just my body being silly after a rest week.  I’ll be fine!

2 Responses

  1. I’m soooo making this! I’m a total sauce snob. I foresee a bowl of this stuff in my future with a few noodles thrown in 😉

    Have fun playing around at the gym tomorrow!! 8k is 5 miles, you’ve got that in the bag 😉

  2. I love you for posting this. It sounds delish! Of course I’m sure it would never taste as good as it does when your mom makes it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

