Just another day at the crazy farm

Tomorrow I start my new job.  In an attempt to keep myself sane, I’ve been doing little odds and ends all day long to keep myself busy.  After my run, I had lunch and then ran a few errands.  I went to Ulta to get some beauty essentials, Archiver’s to experiment with vellum for our invitations, and Hallmark to get a card.

Then, I decided to try a recipe I’ve had bookmarked for awhile–Jenna’s roasted chicken.  I am pleased to announce that it turned out great!  I added some potatoes to the pan to roast with it.  Next time, I’ll add some carrots and mushrooms as well, but hindsight’s always 20/20, right?

He’s pooping a lemon!

chicken 002

It was fabulous.  Dinner tomorrow night will be leftovers!

Then I started plotting.  Nothing makes me feel worse than being hungry, so I needed to develop a strategy for my first work day.  First, I packed a lunch in my awesome Fit and Fresh container I’m excited to finally have a reason to use again.

chicken 003

Keeping it simple–turkey and cheddar on a multigrain Arnold’s sandwich thin, yogurt, strawberries (frozen–they’ll defrost by lunchtime tomorrow), and granola.  I’ll have the apple for a snack and maybe one of those awesome Trader Joe’s trail mix baggies (that giant bag contains 10 snack sized little bags).

I love the Fit and Fresh container because it all folds up so neatly and there’s a special ice pack that keeps everything cold.  See?

chicken 004

But then, of course, I have to prepare for the inevitable snack attack.  I took a cue from Meghann and decided to form the beginnings of a snack drawer for my desk.  In it will go the entire bag of TJ’s trail mix, plus this divine assortment:

chicken 005Contents:

  • 2 Kashi TLC Peanut Peanut Butter granola bars
  • 2 Kashi TLC Trail Mix granola bars
  • 4 mini Luna bars (Nutz over Chocolate, S’mores, and Caramel Nut Brownie)
  • Banana Bread Larabar
  • Peanut Butter and Jelly Larabar
  • White Chocolate Macadamia Clif bar
  • packet of almonds
  • packet of Planter’s Energy Mix trail mix

I obviously won’t eat these all tomorrow, but I feel better knowing I’ll have a stash at work should things go bad.  When it gets low, I’ll just take the bag home and refill!  (Yes, I’m obsessed with bars.)

I also packed my absolute favorite hand lotion.  No, not just my favorite hand lotion, the best hand lotion in the entire world.  It is by OPI, the nail polish company, and it’s called Avojuice.  They have all sorts of scents and they all smell incredible.  They even have a Pumpkin Butter scent, which I love even though I’m a big grump when it comes to the blog-related pumpkin craze.  I chose the Crisp Apple scent, and this will sit on my desk.  (I’m a stress moisturizer.  When things get bad, I hit the bottle.)  Anyway, this lotion is a must buy–it leaves your hands silky smooth but not greasy and smells great.  Even T uses it!  I am dead serious about this.  It will change your life, especially with winter coming!

chicken 006

All of this stuff went into my pretty new work bag, a “good luck at work” present from my mom:

chicken 008

Nope, totally not wearing makeup.  Sorry, guys.

Speaking of crazy farm, our animals have all gone a little batty today.  Milhouse has decided his favorite hobby is gently picking up a shoe in his mouth, and moving it from one room of the house to another.  So, I can’t find any of my shoes.  But it is pretty cute to see him trotting around the house with a sneaker in his mouth!

invites 002

And Southpaw’s decided she likes the dog’s crate:

chicken 009

Anyway, I go in bright and early tomorrow.  I have a university orientation in the morning and then I start my job in the afternoon.  I’m excited to find out all the little things–will I have a desk, or a cubicle, or an office?  Will people be nice or mean?  What exactly will a day in the life look like from now on?  Will it feel weird to be in a school and NOT be a student for the first time in twenty-five years?

Any first day of work advice?  I’ll be back tomorrow night with the day in review!

6 Responses

  1. Ah!! Good luck on your first day!!!! You’ll do great 😀

    I’m also excited to see you tried out Jenna’s chicken – I bookmarked that too. She posted that literally hours after I said I wanted to tackle a whole chicken myself.

  2. You look super prepared! Other things I brought into work: one set of utensils, a mug, some tea and cocoa mix, a small bowl (for parfaits or something), fruit leater, gum, floss, lotion, feminine hygeine products, and a huge bag of mixed nuts. 😀

  3. Good luck on your first day! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  4. “I’m a stress moisturizer. When things get bad, I hit the bottle”

    Totally hysterical!

    Good luck on your first day- make time for lots of paperwork and training!

  5. Good luck on your first day!

    A snack drawer is a good idea. My snack drawer has evolved to look more like a grocery store. I have a jar of peanut butter, cans of soups, packs of oatmeal, 7 different types of tea, fruit, nuts, bars, you name it! lol!

    My cat loves to lounge on the dog bed too.

  6. Good luck!

    My advice is to just remember that it takes time to get used to a new job. At first things might seem overwhelming, but you’ll get used to it.

    I cannot have a snack drawer because I eat from it too much. I’m an out of sight, out of mind type of person, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

