Owwwww.

So, I may be off the injury DL, but I am in a world of hurt from yesterday’s foray into weightlifting.  I had to go into work to fill out some new hire paperwork this morning, and I was planning on going for a jog around the neighborhood.  But the moment the alarm went off, I could feel my hamstrings and glutes and quats just scream “NO.”  I can barely walk, much less run.  I suppose it was a good thing to lay off the weightlifting to heal the injury, but I’m paying for it now.

In the spirit of Caitlin and Megan talking about listening to their bodies, I’m going to do the same.  This week I’ve just not had the energy, physical or mental, to really give working out my full attention.  I’ve been feeling really worn out, and in looking back at my calendar, I realized it’s been nine weeks since my last full rest week.   Pretty much every training plan or fitness book I’ve read and respect advocates a week of rest every now and then.  In particular, my two favorite resources, The New Rules of Lifting and The New Rules of Lifting for Women emphasize how important it is to take full rest weeks to rebuild all the muscle and stuff you’re breaking down constantly when you work out.  I would quote it, but then you would have no reason to go buy the books, which you really should.  (If you’re female, I still recommend The New Rules of Lifting–it’s got a lot of great information that the women’s version glosses over.)

fries 005

Anyway, what this all boils down to is that next week I’m going to take a rest week while I figure out my new job and get settled there.  I don’t feel guilty or bad about this–it’s what my body needs, and what I think will help me be fully able to focus on my new schedule! I also had to go in to work to fill out some paperwork this morning, and I realized that it’s in a totally flat, scenic, safe location…so I think some post-work runs might be in order in the future.

In other news, T and I are venturing out to The Melting Pot tonight for dinner to celebrate my new job.  YUM.  I love me some melted cheese and chocolate!  Also, Milhouse is doing quite well, despite his new habit of sitting or laying down in the middle of walks.

Do you take rest weeks?  Do you think they’re beneficial?

2 Responses

  1. Good on you for listening to your body! Really wish I’d done that today – I feel like crap now!

    I should pick up the regular NROL, I’m in need of something to refresh my lifting routines.

    Have fun at dinner tonight! Eat lots of chocolate fondue for me! 😉

  2. I do take rest weeks now and then. Of course as soon as I finished NROL4W I got mono and had to take a rest month!

    It seems like yesterday that me, you, and Susan were posting our workouts in the NROL4W forum and you posted about your engagement! Time flies!

    I’ve been meaning to get the regular NROL. It could help me find a new routine and my husband might get motivated to lift!

    I’ve always wanted to go to a Melting Pot but there isn’t one near me! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

