Injury report

Take me off the DL, folks.  Mystery Shoulder Injury 2009 appears to be 100% healed, and my feet are no longer covered in heinous large blisters.

So, recap: a few weeks ago, I “tweaked” something in my right shoulder that made it hurt when I lifted it above parallel.  It got worse for awhile, and turned into a pain that radiated down my arm.  I started icing and heating it alternately for awhile, and it felt much better, just kinda weak.  I also laid off weightlifting for awhile to let it heal properly. I’ve left it alone for the last week and haven’t noticed any pain, so I decided to test it out today at the gym.

I didn’t want to leave Milhouse in the crate for too long, so I planned a 40 minute or so workout.  I went into the gym planning to do a four mile run, but after the first mile I just wasn’t feeling it.  The weights looked awfully appetizing, and my shoulder felt fine so I did a short lifting workout just to test the waters.  Here’s what I did:

  • Dumbbell push press, 3 sets of 8 reps at 22.5 pounds (per arm, so 45 total)
  • Barbell deadlift, 3 sets of 8 reps at 80 pounds
  • Lat pulldown, 3 sets of 8 reps at 90 pounds
  • Olympic bar squat, 3 sets of 8 reps at 135 pounds

Here’s photographic proof:

photo(6)

I was going to run another mile after all that, but I got on the treadmill and my legs said, “Um, Brie?  You haven’t squatted that much in about a month.  We aren’t going to stand for this!”  So, I jumped off and went home.  I gave Milhouse a nice 20 minute walk this morning, and will probably give him another one later, so I’ve definitely been active.

Oh, and my blisters have turned into lizardlike calluses that shed layers of skin from time to time.  It’s gross, but useful, and I’m not in searing pain when I run anymore.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking a lot about the whole, “fail to plan, plan to fail” thing.  I need to come up with some good strategies for working out once I start my job on Monday.  I CANNOT use my job as an excuse.  Since I’ve gotten in shape, I’ve always been a student or unemployed so I’ve had a pretty flexible schedule.  I’ve never done the healthy 9-5 thing before.  So, it will be a challenge.  Here are a few random thoughts I’m marinating in my head:

  • Goal: work out 4-5 days a week.  Rest days will be weekdays.  I will go to the gym on Saturday and Sunday for longer distance runs and weightlifting, and during the week, I will do some kind of exercise two or three times a week, either at home or make it to the gym.
  • When I’m working out at home, I can’t force myself to run hills more than once a week.  They are brutally hard and my body doesn’t like them.  They make me wheezy.  BUT, I will run outside on hills once a week.
  • Re: wheeziness.  Once good work insurance starts up, see a doctor and get an albuterol inhaler to keep my lungs happy.
  • Consider investing in Jillian Michaels’ new DVDs.  I loved the Shred, but I’ve done it so much in the last year and a half I’m bored with it even though it can still be challenging.  (Any reviews?)
  • Consider buying a yoga or pilates DVD.  The summer I lost a bunch of weight, I actually was working 9-5 and would do the Shred every night because it was so easy to just walk upstairs and do it.  I need to get that kind of thing going again.
  • If all else fails and I’m really genuinely tired, take the dog for a long walk.

Hopefully soon I’ll be in a good routine and have this all figured out!

7 Responses

  1. Yay for injuries disappearing! You obviously did the right thing with your shoulder (ie lay off it until the pain goes away – amazingly, not a lot of people will do that!). And also, way to go on listening to your bod at the gym! Squats will strengthen those legs for the hills anyways 😉

    I like your plan to take your rest days on work days! I do the same. I use my days off as my tough workout days, then rest on days I know I’ll be busy at work.

  2. Hi Brie,

    I work out from home all the time (will get a gym membership soon however because I want to do some barbell work). If you are stuck for ideas for good home-based workouts, I post mine up each day on my blog: http://jonnygetsfit.wordpress.com/

    The only equipment I have at home are dumbells. See if any of my workouts are of interest to you.

    Keep up the good work.

    Jonny

  3. I say NAY to the yoga DVD’s and crap. I say YAY to YogaDownload.com. For reals. Best thing ever. You can get a bunch of 20 minute ones for FREE. And if you like them, you can buy longer ones. AND you can get a range from 10 minutes – 90 minutes so you can squeeze it into pretty much any time frame you have available. AND you don’t have to keep looking up at the screen all awkward like. You just listen to the mp3 and if you aren’t familiar with the poses, you print up a PDF with the pose guide. Easy. And cheap. And you don’t get the whole boredom of doing the same DVD a bajillion times.

  4. I’m a big fan on the Shape Bikini Body camp DVDs and the original Firm workouts. I workout at home a lot!

  5. Nice workout! I think that’s a good plan for when you start full time work.

  6. sweet! i did 80 lb deadlifts today!

  7. That is a great photo of you at the gym, you look so fit!

    Glad I found your blog, btw. Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

