Good morning!

Surprise!  I don’t usually blog in the morning, but I was up bright and early with Milhouse.  T’s alarm went off at 6, and I woke up feeling hot, nauseous, and wheezy.  Not fun.  So, I decided to get up with him and see how the pup was.

Happily, he was quiet in his crate all night and accident-free.  He got excited when T came down and started whining a bit then, but he was fine.  T took him out, we gave him breakfast, and then I took him on a long walk.  (Milhouse is NOT a jogger, sadly.  He has to sniff every tree, garbage bag, and mailbox!)  I’m feeling a little better after some toast with almond butter, but I’ve just felt generally a bit sick and rundown the last few days so I’m going to take it easy today.  I think a few long brisk dog walks will count as exercise today.  My legs cramped really badly after my run yesterday, too, so I think I need to do a little stretching and get some water.

Apparently I tired Milhouse out.  He’s done very little but snooze since we got him!

milhouse2 003

milhouse2 004

Cat-dog relations are still pretty uneventful.  Buckley hissed at him twice this morning, like, “Hey, I thought you were leaving,” but he’ll be fine.

milhouse2 001

Today’s going to be pretty laid-back.  Milhouse is getting a check-up at the vet at 3, and we’re going to go on a few long walks, but beyond that I’m just going to focus on hydrating and feeling better.

In life updates, I start my new job on Monday.  I’m really nervous since this is my first 9-5 adult job and I don’t quite know what I’m doing yet.  I’m also trying to figure out what will be a workable exercise schedule–I’m a bit nervous to run in the dark by myself in the morning, and I’m not sure if I’ll feel motivated after work.  Not to mention my gym is 15 minutes away and in the opposite direction of my job!  Grr.  Any suggestions?

What do you do when you’re just a little bit sick?  Push through or rest and hope it doesn’t get worse?

3 Responses

  1. Aww! I’m such a big beagle fan – I “sqee!” whenever I see pictures of your Milhouse. 🙂 My beagle needs to sniff everything too… but she’ll still jog with me a little bit until we get to certain areas — namely, empty grassy lots — where we’ll slow down to let her sniff everything (and do her “business”) to her heart’s content.

    I work from 8:30-5:30. My workplace is about 5 min away and my gym about 7 min away from home. I typically wake up around 5:30 to eat a quick little something, read some emails/facebook for a while, then I’m at the gym from around 6:30 to 8 and run home for a quick shower before heading to work. I used to just shower and get ready for work at the gym, but my gym’s locker/shower has been so gross lately.

    I’m sure you’ll do great at your new job! Good luck!

    I’m sorry you’re not feeling well — hope you feel better! As for me and exercise, it depends on how sick I’m feeling and how long. I think if I were in your situation, I definitely would have taken the time off too.

  2. My dog does the sniff thing too. I usually take him to the soccer field and walk once around and let him smell everything then start up the jogging!

    Good luck on the new job! I’m sure you’ll do great! I personally exercise in the evenings because I’m not a morning person. I usually get home, do the prep work for dinner, hit the gym, come home and finish up dinner.

    As for exercising while sick, it depends on how bad it is. I will usually aim for something light like a walk or yoga/pilates. If I have a fever I just rest! Hope you feel better soon!

  3. Walking my mom’s dogs is impossible! It takes half an hour just to go around the block! They HAVE to stop and pee on everything (or, lift their leg and pretend).

    I’m all about getting up in the mornings to exercise before work. I’m a lot more likely to blow it off after work. Honestly, I’m not really that much of a morning person either! I just guzzle back some iced coffee before heading out, and it actually makes me a lot more chipper for the rest of the day 🙂 As for running outdoors, maybe you could squeeze in your short ones after work before it gets dark, then save the long ones for weekends?

    Boo on feeling under the weather 😦 When I feel like crap, I SLEEP. I can take all the potions I want, but a couple nights of deep sleep (possibly nyquil induced) are the only thing that gets me feeling better.

Leave a Reply

