Doggie!

Introducing the newest addition to our family…Milhouse the beagle!

milhouse 002

He is two years old and we got him at our local animal shelter.  T and I are both big shelter advocates, and wouldn’t even consider getting a pet anywhere else.  Here’s him getting ready to go home:

photo(5)

Love.  He unfortunately has a little conjunctivitis, so we have to give him eye drops for the next few days, but is otherwise healthy, neutered, and microchipped.

It’s me!  And my new haircut!

milhouse 003

Dog-cat relations are going well.  They seem very uninterested in each other–there was no hissing or growling and Milhouse hasn’t uttered a bark yet.

milhouse 007

Southpaw seems interested in crate training herself, which is pretty funny. We stopped at PetSmart on the way home to get him a bath and he seemed to want to make friends with every dog we saw.

Now he’s laying on the couch with T and Buckley, gumming a Nylabone a bit and struggling to keep his eyes open.  Poor little guy is tired.

In other news, I ran 5.1 miles on the treadmill today.  Because I’m still kind of ticked that the 5K I ran Saturday was longer than a real 5K, I ran a speed 5K on the treadmill in 28:35.  Then I ran 2 easy 10:00 miles.  I felt great doing it and can’t wait to do it again!

Tomorrow morning I’m going to see if Milhouse likes to jog.  I’ll bring the camera!

6 Responses

  1. I’m so so so so soooooooooo happy for you!!!!! And I’m so happy that Milhouse got a new home!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I saw your Tweet and couldn’t get over here fast enough!!!!!!!!!!! Congrats!!!!!

  2. I’m so glad you got the beagle!!! Milhouse is such a great name too. He looks like the male version of my beagle. 🙂 She’s a smaller beagle too with an entirely black back. FYI, she also RARELY barks and she does light jogs with me too.

  3. SO cute!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Ahhhh! Millhouse!! I love him! 😀 That’s an adorable name too. I’m happy to hear the cat is reacting well. I actually have two beagles that live above me. But I think I like Millhouse a lot better already 😉 Have fun jogging together today!

  5. Millhouse is so cute!!! The cat in that picture looks a lot like my Buttercup…just not as obese!

  6. […] we got home, we officially adopted Milhouse and brought him […]

Leave a Reply

