I’m back! Part two

Sunday

Sunday was a lot of fun.  T and I randomly woke up early, and we didn’t have to be anywhere until 12:30, so of course what does my mind automatically go to?  Grocery shopping, of course!  Chicago has Trader Joe’s, my absolute favorite place to buy groceries, but Kansas City doesn’t.  So, we stopped at Starbucks for a quick breakfast and then headed out to TJ’s.  My mission?  ALMOND BUTTER.  It’s $9.99 for a small jar here, and $4.99 for a big jar there.  I stocked up! Here’s my “I love grocery shopping” face:

chicago 014

Here’s the loot:

chicago 015

I ended up with:

  • TJ’s low sodium creamy tomato soup (SO good)
  • Pecan praline granola
  • four jars of almond butter
  • two jars of peanut butter
  • a Clif white chocolate macadamia bar (haven’t seen this flavor around here)
  • “Just a handful” of cashews, cherries, and almonds trail mix

That’s it.  I tried to behave!

Then we went to Petsmart, where we bought a harness and leash and tags for our dog, because we thought we’d be picking him up today at 4:15.  😦  Long story short–our rental agent represented one thing to us, our lease says another, and ultimately the property owner will decide if we get him or not.  We offered to extend our lease for a year if they allow him, which we think is a pretty appealing offer, so we are just waiting (on pins and needles) to find out what the decision is.  Hopefully we will have something to fill the harness and collar soon…but anyway.  Sorry for the tangent.

After getting lost all over the place, we met with our awesome florist!  I am so, so excited about our floral stuff now.  She is incredible and creative and modern–I just love her.  Here’s the rundown of what we’re getting:

  • My bouquet: White peonies with white and pink dutch tulips and white and pink ranunculus, round and fluffy shape, hand-tied, handle wrapped in champagne satin with ivory or white organza criss-cross overlay and pearl details, skinny ivory plumage around rim
  • Bridesmaids: Mostly light & medium pink and some white dutch tulips hand-tied and simple, with lace accent around handle. Handle tied in champagne satin.
  • T’s bout: white ranunculus w/premium greens, stems wrapped in black with gold wire wrap
  • Groomsmen: light pink ranunculus w/premium foliage, stems wrapped in black with gold wire wrap
  • Altarpieces (reused at reception): tall and showy hurricane-shaped vase, curly willow, white hydrangea, cream french tulips, peach stock, light pink snapdragons, pink and white peonies, minimal foliage
  • Centerpieces for reception: short & full mixed arrangement in square vase with mixture of white hydrangea, white and light pink peonies, and white and light pink tulips; ribbon wrapped around vase in aqua and aqua stones in bottom of vases
  • Plus, assorted flowers for parents, grandparents, petals for the flower girl, and peonies for atop our cake!

I’m really excited about the flowers now.  I never thought I would be, but it’s going to be springy and lush and full of texture.  Our awesome florist thanked us a few times for not using roses (apparently she’s sick of them), and laughed at T a little bit because he is very insistent about his ranunculus for the boutonnieres.

THEN, we did a little shopping (and I got a great black leather bag for work) and headed to our cake tasting, also known as HEAVEN.

T and I picked our cake design almost immediately.  We love the unique shape of the tiers and the awesome piping:

chicago 019

However, there was some consternation about the color.  I was concerned about an all-blue cake, but I thought an ivory cake with blue piping would look like a sink with toothpaste in it (yes, I’m weird).  Then we thought about a white cake with pink piping, but we didn’t think we’d get the contrast we wanted on that.  Eventually, we saw an ACTUAL blue cake and I was satisfied that it will not look like the Cookie Monster, so we are going with blue fondant and ivory piping.  Like this cake, but in the design above:

chicago 020

Then, the tasting.  Also known as the happiest day of my life:

chicago 021

Can I just say how much I wanted to stick my face in that plate of frosting?

We tried all the cakes first and immediately ruled a few out (carrot, banana, plain white).  T and I had the same two favorites, so that was pretty easy–we both loved the red velvet cake and the vanilla chiffon.  Normally, I’m not a white cake person, but the vanilla cake is very french vanilla-y and rich.

Then we tried all the frostings.  There were a few immediate vetos (lemon, mocha, jams) and we pretty quickly decided on the classic red velvet cake with cream cheese icing for two of the tiers.  I was infatuated with their strawberry mousse (it tasted like strawberry ice cream) and T loved the chocolate mousse.  So…we had the genius idea to make a Neapolitan cake!  Two tiers will have vanilla chiffon cake, with two layers of strawberry mousse filling and one layer of chocolate mousse.  Taken all together, it really does taste like Neapolitan ice cream!  Yum.  (The mousses are the big fluffy piles of frosting on the bottom of the picture.)

After the cake tasting was done, we drove to my aunt and uncle’s house and had a lovely dinner with them, my cousin and her husband and son, their friend and their dog.  Steaks, asparagus, and potatoes were on the menu and we brought a cake for dessert.  So good!

Then we rented Marley & Me in anticipation of getting our dog today (sigh) and I snotty ugly cried through the last half of it.

Monday

Today, we got up at  6 a.m. to leave Chicago and drive home because we were supposed to be picking up our dog at 4:15 until the shelter called and revealed all this with our rental place.  So, it was a very stressful drive home and now we’re waiting on pins and needles to find out what the owner’s decision is.  My fingers are crossed so very hard.

And that is my weekend in review!  How was yours?  I hope you enjoyed Leah and Susan‘s guest posts!  Aren’t they fabulous?

6 Responses

  1. Those cakes are beautiful! I love cake tastings, too!

    I really miss TJs. We used to live in Geneva and fell in love with TJs. Don’t have them out here in NY!

  2. I have my fingers double and triple crossed for you and the dog!!!!!! I hope your leasing company comes to their senses!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Crossing my toes for the dog!!! In my experience, landlords can be swayed pretty easily, I hope that’s the case for you!

    I LOVE the idea of a neopolitan cake!

  4. Good look on the doggie!

    Your cake sounds amazing! I think it will look awesome too!

    I hit a Trader Joe’s everytime I travel! I want one here so bad!

  5. […] around to various restaurants to look at rooms was pretty low on our list of priorities on our last wedding planning trip.  But, time was ticking down and we realized we had to book SOMETHING for the rehearsal […]

  6. […] also went to Chicago and picked out our wedding cake, met our florist and officiant, and I ran a race with my […]

Leave a Reply

