Things Fitness Bloggers Like (and I don’t) #2: Pumpkin

Installation of “Things Fitness Bloggers Like (and I don’t) #1” was a smashing success.  It’s really very nice to know that I am not the only anti-oatmeal individual out there!  I continue to eat cold cereal with gusto.

Now that it’s October, I’ve realized that the latest thing that’s been making me sigh on fitness blogs is pumpkin.  I get it.  It’s fall.  Fall is signified by pumpkins and falling leaves.  Since you can’t eat dead leaves and not be labeled completely nuts, pumpkins have taken over the blogosphere.  Pumpkin oats.  Pumpkin swirl bread.  Pumpkin cookies and lattes and pie and soups and wraps.  It’s positively ubiquitous.

Now, if you genuinely love pumpkin, I’m happy for you.  But I just don’t like it.  It’s not like oats, as in I don’t want to spit pumpkin stuff out immediately after putting it in my mouth, but it just kind of leaves me going “meh.”  I am not one to put down something sweet after I eat one bite, but I will gladly do this with a piece of pumpkin pie or a pumpkin cookie.  I just don’t get the obsession.  I think most things pumpkin-y are just overpoweringly filled with allspice and nutmeg and cinnamon, and when it comes to those flavors, I like them light.

Much like I took up the cause for cold cereal in my last post, I’m going to advocate another awesome but underrated fall flavor: the PEAR!  According to Google, pears are in season from late summer through early winter, which means fall, and man, do we love pears in this household.  T is very particular about his pears–he prefers Bartlett–but I’ll eat them all.  Anjou, red, Asian, canned, whatever.  Pears are great in salads, so they are not doomed to sweet dishes only, and they are great drizzled with a little almond or peanut butter.

In celebration of the pear, I made a fun pear-related recipe: pear bread!  I love home baked quick breads.  Banana bread is an absolute favorite of mine, and when I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it.  Of course, I made a few substitutions–instead of using all white flour, I used half white flour, half whole wheat flour.  I also substituted the vegetable oil for applesauce, and increased the cinnamon just a bit.

First I stirred together the wet ingredients:

pear 001

Then I stirred together the dry ingredients:

pear 002

Then I chopped up the pear and tossed it with a splash of lemon juice:

pear 003

And mixed it all together:

pear 004

It’s ready to go in the oven…:

pear 005

And 55 minutes later…

pear 007

Yum.  But I took it to the next level with some cinnamon PB:

pear 008

This bread was awesome.  A very light pear flavor, nice and cinnamon-y and nutty from the whole wheat flour and walnuts.

So, fitness bloggers of the world…branch out!  Try something new!  Step away from the pumpkin!

9 Responses

  1. You made me giggle.

    Hi! My name is Leah, and I’m a food blogger that loves pumpkin!

    Except I HATE pumpkin pie.

    I think the thing I love about pumpkin is the spices that go with it. Cinnamon, nutmeg, all spice, cloves. I like spicy/spice filled foods. I love flavor. I pretty much double all spices in my dishes that I prepare. I’m an addict. Pumpkin oats are meh. Pumpkin spice lattes are BOMB, especially if you only get half the amount of pumps. That’s the key. I also love pumpkin pancakes, pumpkin bread, and I have every intention of making my very first pumpkin butter this fall! Sorry! 😀 hehe…

  2. Dang, I don’t know if you’ve been by my blog but if so you probably don’t like it since I’ve had pumpkin oats (and loved it!) twice this week LOL. If it makes you feel better, I love all fall foods, including pumpkin, pears, plums, apples, winter squash, grapes, pomegranates, and so much more. Fall foods is the only hint of fall we get right now in Florida.

    Time to go bake pumpkin oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. 🙂

  3. Guilty of pumpkin love over here! I don’t care much for pumpkin pie though but bread, lattes, cookies, oatmeal, ect. are wonderful in my book!

    I do REALLY love pears though, especially Asian ones. I’d love to try pear bread! Sounds and looks delicious!

  4. A-MEN!! I hate pumpkin! Ew, just thinking about the orange gunk gives me the willies. If you’re going to do pumpkin it’s got to be freshly roasted or in seed form, not from a sketchy can 😛

    Pears! Love ’em! they are my favourite fruit to mix with cottage cheese 🙂

  5. TEAM PEARS! boo pummiekins!

    love this food isntallment.

  6. The only thing I like pumpkins for is carving faces in them!!!

  7. Pumpkin is OK (though for me it’s a savoury food mostly) but pears are awesome! I’ve been on the lookout for good pear baking, so will totally make that bread!

  8. this is such a funny series! keep it up if you can think of more things, LOL. Thanks to blogland I do like pumpkin and oatmeal, two things I didn’t eat before. I don’t like cottege cheese, and everyone in blog-world was eating that for awhile. If that counts.

  9. […] I re-filled my candy dish with seasonally appropriate candies.  I have to say, you all know I don’t get the fall flavor craze like most bloggers do, but if there is a winter flavor craze it is my favorite.  To me, winter and Christmas means pink […]

Leave a Reply

