The hills are alive…

Today I tackled my friendly neighborhood hills again.  I went into it with a strategy this time–I read on Runner’s World that instead of trying to keep your pace steady when running up hills, you should focus on keeping your level of exertion the same instead.  On the mean hills, then, I watched my heart rate and focused on keeping it as steady as possible instead of racing up it.  At times, yes, this meant I powerwalked up them a bit.  I found this to be a generally good strategy, and I will keep using it.

Overall report for the day–4.1 miles of hills in 44 minutes, burned 650 calories.  I saw nine horses (all very pretty), two items of roadkill, a crap ton of dog poop, and a nice farmer that waved at me.  Also, I tried out my new running shirt from Target!  Here is my bad ass “I’m wearing a new running shirt, beeyotch” pose in the bathroom:

evidence 002

Should you be inclined to buy one for yourself, you can do so here.

I am generally not a fan of having sleeves and high necks when I work out.  They bother me.  This shirt gets a mixed review–I think I would like it better with a V-neck, but the shirt was very well-ventilated and the sleeves didn’t bother me at all.  Towards the end of the run I was tugging at the neck because I felt a little strangulated, but I’m weird like that (I can’t even wear a t-shirt to the gym).  I think the average bear would like it, and I am going to try to stretch out the neck a bit before I wear it again.
I also went with watered down Gatorade on this run and I have to say, it got the thumbs down this time.  I just kept craving water the whole time, so I’m gonna take that as a sign that I should be drinking water.  It also made me spit a lot, which is just gross.

Weight update:  I don’t stress about the scale, but I appear to have lost a pound or two lately, which is nice.  I don’t really go by the scale, but I feel really happy that my size 8 jeans from last year still fit me, and well.

Life update:  I got a job!  I am not sure on the details of when I’ll be starting yet, but it will be either next Tuesday or the following Monday.  I’ll be working in law school admissions, so the position will use my law degree but I won’t be a lawyer per se, which is exactly what I wanted.  I am so relieved and thrilled and excited for the new opportunity.  Obviously, I’m going to have to re-work my workout schedule and whatnot, but stick with me!

5 Responses

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!

  2. Haha, you do totally look badass! 😉

    And congrats on the job! Yay!!

  3. CONGRATS ON THE JOB!!! (And on the hill running!!)

  4. Congrats on finding a job that sounds like it’s exactly what you wanted!!

  5. That’s exactly how to do hills- and congrats on the job!

Leave a Reply

