Playing with powder

Hi guys.  Things have been crazy today.  Long story short, T and I witnessed something scary last night and I’ve been on the phone with various agencies and police people all morning.  No worries, we are both fine and we hope everyone else involved will be too.

Anyway, my 5 mile run got cut short by one of the phone calls, so I decided to turn it into a speedy 5K instead.  I ran 5K on the treadmill in 28:30, which I feel fabulous about.  I will be thrilled if I finish my 5K this weekend in under 30:00–it’s a goal on my goal page to do so, but since it’s my first I’m not going to freak if I don’t.  Today I decided to experiment with Gatorade G2 while I ran to see if it improved my performance/recovery.

g2 001

I feel mixed about this.

Pros:

  • I did feel like I exerted less effort during the workout.
  • I felt like I could push harder.
  • I wasn’t as wiped out after the workout as I usually am.
  • It seems like I sweated less?

Cons:

  • Fruit punch isn’t really refreshing during a run.  I would prefer maybe a lemon flavor.
  • It has a funny aftertaste.
  • I had a bit of a headache afterwards.

Neutral:

  • I am not hungry at all.  Usually I’m starving after I run.  This may also be related to the whole drama of last night–I’m feeling generally off.
  • I mixed it with 24 oz. of water instead of the recommended 16.  I think it would be way too sweet in less water.  It was already borderline too sweet.

I think I am going to continue to try this.  I am undecided whether I like it or not as of yet.

Fun stuff!  Salt at Salt Says tagged me for the Kreativ Blogger badge!  See?

kreativ_blog

Apparently I have to list seven random facts about me and tag a few others with it, so…here goes:

  • T and I are fascinated with names of groups of animals (like a pride of lions, a herd of cattle).  Our favorites are a business of ferrets and a parliament of owls.
  • I am afraid of ketchup.  When I was little, I just didn’t like it and the other kids at lunch would torment me by squirting little ketchup packets at me.  I can’t watch someone eat it without getting sweaty and nervous and my heart pounding.  I hate it.
  • I have always wanted to visit Canada.  I find it fascinating.
  • My favorite smell in the world is raw steak.  Whenever we have red meat for dinner, I will just inhale the aroma for a minute before I cook it.
  • When I was little, I had an imaginary friend named Kathy Judada.  I blamed lots of things on her.
  • I love cold weather and snow.  I hate hot summer weather.  Anything over 80 degrees makes me cranky.  I couldn’t ever live anywhere where it’s hot year round!
  • T and I are hoping to honeymoon in Colorado, touring a bunch of cities and staying at fancy hotels since we’re going to drive, not fly.

I’m tagging…

Thanks, Salt!  Have a great day, everyone!

6 Responses

  1. I love the imaginary friend ….at least yours had a last name, mine was just Henry . He took the blame for me many times as well !

  2. LOL @ your 7 things.

    PS – did you know that me, you, and Susan all use the same layout?! That makes me smile! 😀

  3. Do you like steak tartare? Yummy yummy and decently healthy (I think).

  4. you should visit canada. it IS fascinating.

  5. For some reason I find reading random things about people entertaining. Even if I don’t know the people…

  6. Ahh!! Thanks for the award! 😀 I’ll be sure to include it in tonight’s post 🙂 I just read Leah’s comment, that makes me smile too. Especially since we’re all NROL/TDP ladies 🙂

    You can come visit me in New Brunswick any day!!

Leave a Reply

