Let them eat cake.

I seriously cannot  think of anything about our wedding I care about less than how our wedding cake looks.  This presents a problem, as we have our wedding cake tasting (yay) and design (boo) meeting on October 11th.

Our bakery is kind of a unique situation.  Our cake is included in our reception package because the restaurant has a contract with a certain bakery.  From what I understand, they have a book of cake designs we can choose from, so we can’t design our own (not that I would want to do that).  We can customize colors, but the design is standard.  They only have a few options up on their website, and they look just fine.  When I think about it, if I have to form an opinion on this, I guess I want something sophisticated and not boring.  Yup.  I don’t care if it’s square or round, or if it’s colored or white.  I think T is going to be making a lot of these decisions because I cannot muster up the energy to form violently passionate opinions about this.  Here are a couple of ones from their website I like.

Classic but a little boring:

I like this aside from the obnoxious bow:

Again, like it except for the ribbon.  People, step away from the fondant bows:

So, yeah, someone needs to form an opinion about this, because I don’t have one.

Taste is a different matter.  I love cake.  When I was little, my mom baked and sold beautiful cakes out of our house–mostly birthday cakes, but I have lots of fond memories of “helping” my mom bake and frost cakes.  I still love to do it, and she recently gave me her cake decorating kit.  It makes me a little bit sad that I live somewhere where I don’t have friends to make cakes for birthdays and showers and whatnot to play with it!  Sigh.

T and I are both BIG chocolate cake fans.  I hate white cake and T does not see the point in cake that is not chocolate.  I like yellow cake with chocolate frosting, and pound cake, and red velvet cake.   We’ve eaten this place’s cake before, and it’s fab.  I am super excited to pick this out.  Here are our options:

Cake flavors

  • Marble chiffon
  • Vanilla chiffon
  • Chocolate chiffon
  • White cake
  • Double devil’s food
  • Pound cake
  • Almond pound cake
  • Lemon pound cake
  • Banana cake
  • Carrot cake

Fillings:

  • Vanilla custard
  • Chocolate custard
  • Lemon custard
  • Strawberry jam
  • Raspberry jam
  • Apricot jam
  • Vanilla buttercream
  • Chocolate buttercream
  • Hazelnut buttercream
  • Mocha buttercream
  • Lemon buttercream
  • Raspberry buttercream
  • Strawberry buttercream
  • White chocolate mousse
  • Chocolate mousse
  • Raspberry mousse
  • Strawberry mousse
  • Irish cream mousse
  • Lemon mousse
  • Tiramisu mousse
  • Fresh strawberry
  • Fresh banana
  • Seasonal fruit
  • Fudge
  • Ganache
  • Cream cheese

Frostings:

  • Fondant
  • White chocolate ganache
  • Dark chocolate ganache
  • Wedding buttercream

PHEW.  I will bring my camera and blog about all this, but wow.  Talk about a lot of choices!  I think this might be the part of wedding planning I am most excited for. We’ll probably avoid the jams, because I’m not a fan of jam fillings in cake, but fresh strawberries and bananas sound pretty good.  And cream cheese?  And ganache?  Oh man.  I am way excited for this, but the sheer amount of decisions involved will be a bit overwhelming.  We’ll probably have 3 or 4 tiers based on our number of guests, so we’ll probably have different flavors in each.

What’s your favorite kind of cake?  Best wedding cake you’ve ever had?

BONUS: Check out a fun food giveaway at Leah’s blog, Leftovers for Lunch!

8 Responses

  1. Ahhhh! I just found your blog! I remember you from NROL4W on TDP! HI!

    Um. I love cake. Lemon is my favorite. Or carrot cake. Only if it has cream cheese frosting though. And I’m sorry, but Tiramisu mousse filling sounds divine! I am recently engaged and we are deciding on the cake this weekend, sans a tasting b/c we are doing a destination sort of wedding in LAS VEGAS!

    Whee! So glad I found you!

    *adding you to my reader NOW*

  2. Ganache is awesome on cakes. I love cream cheese frosting.
    Only get the buttercream if it is really made with butter and not any shortening – that kind is nasty.

    I worked in a bakery for a while that did the most divine cakes for weddings. Italian cream cake with buttercream icing was my favorite!

  3. I love chocolate ribbon cake, which I think has chocolate as the base and a cream cheese frosting. They all sound pretty good though!!

  4. Carrot cake + cream cheese frosting all the way. Sooo good, and tends to end up moister than the other ones.

  5. I agree with Marina carrot cake and cream cheese frosting yummo! this blog is so cute. I just found it and i’m excited!!

  6. I am a fan of red velvet cake with cream cheese icing. The tiramisu filling and the ganache sounds wonderful! OMG and the Irish Creme!

    I love cake #2 but without the bow. For real, what’s with the big bows?

  7. Well, if it was just ME eating the wedding cake, I would go for carrot with cream cheese frosting. Complete with little frosting carrots on top 😛 But chocolate is probably the best way to go. With chocolate fudge filling. And dark chocolate icing. Yumm 🙂

  8. White cake with an Amaretto soak with custard filling is probably the best wedding cake I’ve ever had. I’m a cake lover too, so deciding on flavors would prove to be difficult for me too! I have to agree with the others…Can’t go wrong with chocolate! Plus, chocolate ganache is just divine.

Leave a Reply

