How it all started

I guess if I was going to this blog in chronological order, I should have started with how T and I met and/or got engaged.  But, it’s too late for that, so excuse me while I regress a bit in time to tell the tales!  (An administrative note: I swear T exists and is super hot, but he’s requested to keep his adorable face off the blog and I’m going to be nice and honor that.)

We met in April of 2007 at the end of our first year in law school.  First year law school classes are basically set up so you have all your classes with the same 30 or so people, so you rarely see anyone outside that group.  A friend of mine was having lunch in the basement of the law school one day, and I was supposed to meet her.  I was supremely annoyed to find that SOMEONE had the audacity to be sitting in MY seat.  It was T.  And he and my friend were discussing whether the plural form of the word “squid” was “squid” or “squids.”  I was a little rude to him, but then realized, “Hey, he’s pretty cute,” and friended him on Facebook.  Because of finals, I didn’t see him again until the end-of-the-year celebration party.  We immediately hit it off, and started dating, and by the end of the summer, we were pretty much inseparable.

T proposed to me on New Year’s Eve 2008.  It was totally unexpected, because a few weeks earlier he’d told me not to get my hopes up for a holiday proposal.  We were both sick with colds, so instead of going out and having fun we decided to have a quiet dinner at our favorite restaurant and then come home and watch movies.  Naturally, as soon as we got home from dinner, I decided to put my pajamas on and crawl into bed with our cats and lay down for a bit.  T came in to see how I was, and then asked me, “Do you want to spend the rest of your life with me?”  I didn’t think he was proposing, so I just said, “Yeah, sure, whatever, of course.”  Then he looked at me kind of strangely and said, “I’m serious.  Will you marry me?”  Of course, I said yes!

T tends to get excited about things and do them early (I get my birthday and Christmas presents a week before the actual holiday, usually), so he didn’t have a ring when he proposed.   We went shopping after the holidays and he picked out (with my input) my ring.  It came in a few weeks later and it’s beautiful!  It’s a round cut diamond in a channel set band.  We’re currently in the process of finding a wedding band to go with it.  Here’s the bling:

ring 005

I love it and I couldn’t be happier with what he picked out.

So, that’s how I got here, all engaged and stuff.  Sorry for the brief sappiness!

3 Responses

  1. looks exactly like my ring, but the cut is a square cute, not round.

  2. Awww, I remember reading the proposal story on TDP. It is SO cute! Much better than at some fancy restaurant or something. Seems so earnest and intimate 🙂 The ring is gooorgeous! Totally my style!

  3. Best wishes!

    I met my now husband when he was in law school 🙂

Leave a Reply

