Help me plan a race season!

Well, I’ve got the racing bug for good now.  I had so much fun yesterday that I want to do it again…and again…and again.
I already registered for one more race I know I really want to do, but would like to add a 5K or two to it to round things out.  Here’s what I’m considering so far:

  • 9/19/09: KC Zoo Run 4 miler (check!)
  • 9/27/09: Whisper Walk 5K (Already registered for this with T.  It’s not a race, but a charity walk to support a family member of T’s with ovarian cancer.)
  • 10/3/09: Eyes on Aids 5K/10K (maybe?  This is silly, but I think I’d feel bad about doing a 5K knowing there’s also people doing a 10K.  And I doubt I could be in 10K shape in two weeks.)
  • 10/4/09: Centerpoint 5K (I’ll either do this one or the Aids run, not sure, this one benefits a free health clinic)
  • 10/17/09: Waddell & Reed Kansas City Marathon 5K (I wish they offered a 10K–the options are a full or half marathon or a 5K.  I might feel bad running a 5K next to marathoners, but it also might be a great motivator for next year!)
  • 11/1/09: Cliffhanger Run 8K (already registered for this–should be a great and very scenic race, and the perfect distance!)
  • 11/22/09: Jingle Bell Run 5K for the Arthritis Foundation (This looks really fun, and I’m a sucker for all things Christmas-y!  I’ll probably register for this.)

I wish there was a 10K that worked with my schedule, but I don’t think there is.  I’ll have to wait for spring for that one!  Any suggestions?

2 Responses

  1. I gotta say, the two 5k’s I’ve done have had 10k options, and I totally felt a little put down that I was’t doing the “whole race.” You’re right, an 8k sounds perfect, and I bet the Jingle Bell run will be a blast. I guess it’s just a matter of which to do that first weekend in October. Personally, I’d go for the Centrepoint 5k. The great thing about smaller races at least, is that they’re fun and speedy. Not a whole lot of pressure 🙂

  2. I don’t think you should feel bad not doing the whole race! Just remember how much you are doing! I find that signing up for races has been a huge motivating factor in keeping me working out on a daily basis, so I’d say the more races the better as long as you’re not increasing your mileage too fast and are giving yourself rest days to let your body recover and rest.

Leave a Reply

