Training fail.

Well, I shouldn’t call it a fail.  I ran the same 5K route I ran the other day, but slightly slower than last time.  I guess I was fueled by anger and visions of looking like a stuffed sausage in my wedding dress last week.  I also tried using moleskin padding on the part of my feet that like to blister to no avail.  In happier news, I did like my new running skirt.

I blame the hills.  Seriously, I don’t mean to be a whiny baby and make excuses, but my GOD, the hills kill me.  Here are my heart rate monitor stats for the day:

  • Time: 39:19 (I actually ran it in about 34:00, then spent 5 minutes waiting for my HR to go back down to a slightly normal number)
  • Average heart rate: 179 (THIS is a problem.  WAY too high.)
  • Maximum heart rate: 192 (Wow.  New record.)
  • Calories: 500

According to MapMyRun, this run contains 195 feet of ascent and 195 feet of descent, whatever that means.  It sounds like a lot, though.  I roughly mapped the race route for Saturday, and it appears to have 3 feet of ascent and 155 feet of descent, which sounds much easier.  I am GREAT at running downhill.

I snapped a picture on my way to donate blood of these stupid hills.  They are scary looking, right?

hills 001

I also took a picture of my scenery.  Horsies!  I have seen three black ones, a white one, a brown one, and a gray one so far.  I also saw two dogs and some ducks today.

hills 003

Someone please reassure me that those are, indeed, scary-looking hills and that running a largely downhill course will be much, much easier.  Do hills change your running routine a lot?  Do you find them harder than regular running?  I’d love to find a flat area to run, but it’s pretty hilly everywhere around here, unfortunately.

4 Responses

  1. yes, running hills absolutely changes everything for me. i avoid running outside because the hills aggravate my ankle. working on a treadmill is better for me, plus i can gradually get my ankle to get used to hills with the incline setting.

    this hills look absolutely terrifying.

  2. Ditto, those hills have me shaking in my yoga pants. Do NOT let them get you discouraged! Those hills may kick your butt on training runs, but they will leave you more than prepared for flatter race routes 🙂 I run on mostly flat paths because I have achilles tendonitis type pains, which are worsened by hill running. There’s no shame in slowing to a walk to get up a hill. I mean, have you ever tried to run 6.0 mph on the treadmill while at a 10% incline?

  3. Hills make you stronger! I actually don’t like running on completely flat surfaces on a regular basis. I find that the repetitiveness of the flat roads makes me more inclined to get an injury.

  4. I always run hills which means I kick ass in flat races! I get so bored on the flat now 🙂

Leave a Reply

