Pumping iron, bride-style

So…today I woke up with a lot of pain from pounding the pavement so eagerly yesterday.  My ankles and hips are particularly complaining.  Fridays are the only day at the gym where I don’t take a class.  Usually, there’s some kind of appealing class at 9:30, but on Fridays, the schedule is Lift at 9 (I don’t love Lift or find it challenging enough to get up half an hour earlier for it) and Zumba at 10 (just, no).  So I decided to go to the gym for some real heavy lifting and light cardio to get the blood flowing in my sore lower body.

Here’s what I did in the weight room (oly=olympic bar, which is 45 pounds):

  • Squat: 12 reps at oly+70 pounds, 2 sets of 12 reps at oly+90 pounds
  • Lat pulldown: 3 sets of 12 reps at 90 pounds
  • Seated row: 3 sets of 12 reps at 90 pounds
  • Deadlift: 3 sets of 12 reps at 60 pounds (used the pre-loaded bar)
  • Overhead shoulder press: 2 sets of 12 reps at 25 pounds

Then, I hit the elliptical and did a nice steady pace for 25 minutes.  Overall, my workout was 50 minutes long and I burned about 450 calories.

Since it’s Friday, I decided to make a fun dinner for T and I.  We’re trying to eat out less, which is hard.  So…I decided to make homemade pizza!  Using this recipe, slightly modified, I made my own pizza dough.  It was quite fun.

This is my yeast before I let it get all foamy and creamy:

pizza 003

And after about 15 minutes:

pizza 004

Dough pre-kneading:

pizza 005

And post-kneading:

pizza 008

I always heat a random cup of water in the microwave for a minute or so.  It gets the inside of the microwave warm and steamy and a perfect place to let the dough rise:

pizza 009

Look how nicely it rose!

pizza 010

Then I cut it into thirds and froze two of the chunks for future dinners:

pizza 011

Then I rolled it out:

pizza 012

And there you have it!  Pizza!  (The pepperoni is T’s.)

pizza 013

I followed the recipe exactly except I used half white flour, half wheat flour.  T doesn’t like whole wheat pizza dough, but I do, so this is my attempt at compromise.  Also, we ran out of white flour halfway through.  I also par-baked the crust with NO toppings for 7 minutes, then baked it with the toppings for 13 minutes (a bit too long).

This pizza crust is PERFECT.  We have lots of trouble making pizza around here.  T likes white, I like wheat.  I don’t like all the gross chemicals in the pre-made dough mixes, he doesn’t mind them.  He likes super thin, crispy crust, I like thick crust.  This recipe was the perfect balance for both of us–enough wheat flour that I don’t feel bad about eating it, but enough white flour that it’s not overly wheaty.  It’s also a nice, sturdy, substantial crust, without being overly thick or doughy.  I give this recipe two thumbs up!  Next time I make it, I’m going to mix some garlic and oregano into the crust.  Mmmm.

What kind of pizza do you like?  Homemade or carry-out?  Thick or thin crust?

5 Responses

  1. i like take out, only because i have yet to attempt to make my own.

  2. Bahahaha at the zumba line. I’m in the process of trying out ALL the classes my new gym offers. That one is definitely being saved for last 😛

    Have you lost much strength after NROL? I’ve lost tons. Like up to 30 lbs on some exercises.

    As for pizza, whole wheat thin crust, with greek toppings 🙂

    • I’ve actually maintained most of my lower-body strength somehow (thanks, giant quads), but my upper-body has gone down a bit. I know my pulldowns have gone from 100+ pounds to 90 pounds. And I’ve definitely lost some core strength because I hate doing it and avoid it at all costs on my own!

      I’m actually planning on re-starting the program in early December, which would put me finishing it right before the wedding.

  3. I found your blog through Susan – I think it’s a great mix of fitness & wedding! I really either the Trader Joe’s whole wheat pizza dough, but when I can’t get that, I mostly go to a pizza place and just buy the dough from them. Much easier than doing it at home!

  4. Oh that pizza looks AWESOME!!
    I have to say, I buy whole wheat pizza dough from Trader Joes… and seriously think it is awesome! It costs 99 cents , which I feel like is a deal when you don’t have time to make your own. I love homemade dough though- so I might try “your recipe” here!

    Re Glucosamin: I know, doesn’t it make sense if you have joint problems and are allergic to what helps your joints!? I would highly recommend the vegetarian glucosamine that I found at Whole Foods. It is only slightly more expensive $16.99 for the bottle vs. 10-12 for shellfish kinds.

    I will do a post with the picture of the bottle too- so far it seems like its working.

Leave a Reply

