Snacktime!

nana 001

nana 002

nana 003

nana 004

nana 005

nana 006

Mmmm.

Obviously, I snacked on a banana with Nutella this afternoon.  I don’t claim that Nutella is particularly healthy (the first ingredient listed is sugar), but I require some chocolate every day or I go crazy.  Nutella does contain nuts, obviously, which contain healthy fats.  And it tastes fantastic, and there’s nothing too foreign in the ingredient list.

True story: I mentioned to T a few weeks ago how awesome Nutella was.  Particularly, some Nutella crepes I’d had in a restaurant a few years ago.  So, next time we’re at the store, we pass by the Nutella and he wants to try it, since he’s never had it.  Of course, I say no.  If my weight loss taught me one thing, it’s that I can’t control myself very well around some foods once I get started…and Nutella falls into that category (along with breakfast cereal right out of the box, pretzels, and baked goods).   But he insisted, and I relented.

And you know what?  It’s been fine.  I’ve had a serving every few days without incident.

I attribute this to a few things:

  1. Our new house has a pantry.  The Nutella is shoved in a back corner.  I know it’s there, but it’s not in my face every time I go to get a glass for a glass of water.
  2. I don’t deprive myself like I once did when I was seriously losing weight.  If I want chocolate, I eat some.  I used to try to beat the desire out of me–it didn’t work.
  3. Eating a big lunch.  My snacking trigger time, so to speak, is right around 3 or 4 in the afternoon.  I’ve started eating a gigantic lunch to keep hunger at bay, and it works.

I also went to my favorite Set class this morning.  It was a great time, but I forgot to put on my heart rate monitor chest strap for the first time since I got it over a year ago!  I know approximately what I burn in that class anyway, so it wasn’t a big deal, but it felt a little odd (and kind of liberating).  My hips have been really tight since I ran outside on Monday, so it was a little harder than usual, but still a good time.

How do you deal with foods that you tend to overindulge in?

2 Responses

  1. I keep the cereal in the back of the very highest cupboard in my kitchen. Surprisingly, even though I have a big sweet tooth, I can keep good control around sweets. It’s just little things like cereal, chocolate chips, nuts, etc, that are way too easy to pop in my mouth and think it doesn’t add up!

  2. I have a delicious Nutella cookie recipe if you want it.

Leave a Reply

