People that Run (Capital P, Capital R)

Ever since I started getting healthy last year, I admired People that Run.  I kinda sorta became one myself last fall, but it was all treadmill running, because running outdoors scared the bejeezus out of me.   Why, you ask?  Well, I can’t really say exactly, but it’s some combination of the following:

  • I associate running outdoors with childhood gym class.  We had to run “THE MILE” every year outside and it was awful.  I had pretty severe asthma as a kid, and it never ended well because I’d push too hard (and still wind up coming in last.)
  • Whenever you hear terrible stories of women disappearing/getting raped and murdered, they are ALWAYS jogging.  Always.
  • Allergies.  Most outdoor smells (cut grass and leaves, especially) make me choke up, even though I’m on allergy medication.  My asthma is mostly gone, but outside things make me wheeze.
  • Sun.  I burn easily.
  • Water.  I hate carrying a water bottle, but if I don’t drink lots of water while I work out I feel terrible.
  • Fear of injury.  I’m clumsy and trip over things easily.

But I still want to be a Person that Runs.  I want to joyfully leap out of bed at 6 a.m., nibble a piece of toast and then go jog, enjoying lovely scenery and health benefits along the way.  This desire has increased since reading some of my favorite blogs that feature People that Run AND moving to a house that is a 15 minute drive from the nearest gym.

So, today, I tried to become a Person that Runs.  It kind of worked.  According to mapmyrun.com, I ran 2.1 miles in 21 minutes.  Following the advice I’ve seen on some blogs, I did roughly 5:1 minute run:walk intervals.  It was pretty hilly and my heart rate was high the entire time, with an average of 174 bpm.   It was really challenging, and I think I’m in pretty good shape!  Unfortunately, now, I’m still wheezing, but I’m proud that I at least gave it a go.  I think from now on I’m going to try running outside at least once a week in hopes that it will become less scary and I might become a Person that Runs.

So, Readers that Run: what’s your advice for an outdoor newbie like me?

3 Responses

  1. GOOD SHOES! I can’t tell you how important it is because if your shooe is not properly cushioned, your ankles, shins, knees, and hips will all have issues from your silly little shoe!

    Listen to your body not your mind!! Too often I found my mind saying ” i need to run I need to run!” but my body was saying ” let me recover!” or quite the opposite: my mind will say ” blah i don’t wanna run today .. i could do it tomorrow or the next day” but my legs and heart really needed to get out there!

    Watch where you step and take it at your own pace- there is no one else to beat but yourself.

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! these past few weeks have been more than insane busy for Jeff and I, so we haven’t gotten far on our wedding yet! It’s taking us forever to pick out a location… i want the beach… he wants to be closer to home… we have one place that might work just perfectly so fingers crossed!

  2. A good route and your “time of day.” I hated running outdoors when I made the transition from the treadmill. I was doing it mostly on the sidewalks of busy streets in the middle of the afternoon. After much experimenting, I discovered wooded paths at the crack of dawn is what works for me the best. Doesn’t mean it will for you, but just keep exerimenting with it till you know you’ve got a winning combo 🙂

    Also, I like to drink a lot of water too, so I got a camelbak. I look like a tool but I love it!

  3. Don’t stop running to let yourself walk and breathe. It’s always harder to get running again once you’ve slowed to a walk, so always keep running even if it’s a very slow jog. A friend shared this with me recently and thought I would pass it on. I’ve never been a runner but have decided not to start my twenties out of shape and am working to become someone who runs consistently. Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

