Rest X 2

Hi, everyone!  Sorry about yesterday.  I was gone all day at a college football game.  We drove four hours there and four hours back in one day, so we didn’t get home until about 1 a.m. and we were both exhausted!

Which brings me to today’s subject: rest.  People tend to think of rest as strictly sleeping/getting enough sleep.  That’s important.  But I firmly believe in resting in ALL aspects of life: mentally, physically, and emotionally.

When I was in my great 50-pound drop of 2008, I didn’t rest.  I worked out every. single. day in August and September of last year.  (I know–I track my workouts online.)  I was convinced that if I rested a day, I wouldn’t be able to bring myself to go back to the gym, so I tried very hard to keep the momentum going.

Not surprisingly, in October 2008, I got a stress fracture in my foot.  Running six miles a day, every day, will do that to you.  I remember very vividly having an all-out anxiety attack when the doctor said I couldn’t run anymore.  He okayed biking and swimming, so I did that instead, but at some point I decided to work the occasional rest day back into my schedule.  And you know what?  I lost even more weight and felt a million times better.

Now, I rest two or three days a week, meaning I don’t go to the gym at all, and about every three months I take a full week (or two or three, depending on what’s going on in my life) off hard exercise.  It keeps me rejuvenated, mentally and physically, and makes my workouts stronger.  My body tells me when it needs rest, and I listen, and consequently, I’ve been injury-free since that little stress fracture debacle last year!

I also believe in giving “perfect” eating a rest sometimes.  I don’t eat 100% perfect every single day, but I usually achieve 90% success.  At least once a week, I give it a rest and eat something I’ve REALLY been craving, whether it be a double cheeseburger or deep dish pizza or an ice cream sundae .  It’s never hindered my weight loss or fitness goals, and it keeps me on track the rest of the time.

How often do you rest?

2 Responses

  1. […] Original post by The Fit Bride […]

  2. I rest probably two days a week. One of those is complete rest (ie sit on the couch all day) and the other is something active like walking, yoga, etc. I like to do around one week off every three months as well. But that gets coordinated more with what’s happening in my life. I used to workout every single day too. I’ve definitely done my mind and body good by learning how to slooow dooown 🙂

Leave a Reply

