Ready, SET, go!

Today was my beloved Set class.  For those of you who missed my explanation earlier, I work out at 24 Hour Fitness, so all the classes have weird names.  “Set” is actually called “24Set,” which is kind of meaningless, except it makes me feel a little bit like Kiefer Sutherland when I tell people about my workouts.  But I digress.  24Set is an interval-type class, meaning the basic structure of the class is as follows:

  • Warm-up
  • 1 minute of push-ups (it’s harder than it sounds–try it!)
  • 1 minute of core
  • 3 minutes of a heavier weight exercise, like squats or lunges, using a loaded barbell
  • 3 minutes of a cardio drill, using light (5 pounds seems to be the average) hand weights and usually a step
  • Repeat the two above over and over until you want to die
  • Cool down and stretch

I enjoy it.  The instructor at my gym is really fun and changes up the cardio drills regularly, and has a really great perky: sassy ratio.

Now, here’s my only tiny beef: light weights…well, they won’t really do much for you, as far as building muscle goes.  Nothing infuriates me more than women who lift 5 pound weights and consider that weightlifting.  Your purse weighs more than five pounds.  A ham weighs more than five pounds.   A chihuahua weighs more than five pounds.  And so on.  If it doesn’t weigh more than things you lift regularly in the course of day-to-day life, it ain’t weightlifting.

That said, it doesn’t really bother me in this class because using light weights is a great way to rev up a cardio interval and help you burn more calories.  I’m also getting pretty heavy lifting in during the weight parts, so it balances.  Even though I’m pretty sure I’m not going to get ripped from my five pound shoulder presses while doing plyometrics on and off a step, it does make the plyometrics (read: jumping) more challenging.  (Adding weight to just about any exercise makes it harder.  If you don’t think walking is exercise, try walking with a 50 pound weighted vest on.  Then you’ll change your tune.)

So, Set was great, and I chatted with the instructor and another woman in my class for awhile afterwards.  (This is significant because I don’t have any female friends in this strange new city, so “girl talk” is rare.)  I left my heart rate monitor in the car, but the class was an hour long and I burned about 550 calories.

And shh…I also participated in Operation Beautiful in the locker room.  I love this site and their mission.  It’s worth a click.  Here’s what I posted:

photo(4)

Definitely check out the site if you get a minute, and pass it on!

One Response

  1. Aww, I love your post-it! Now, will your body be saying that tomorrow when it’s sore 😛

    Totally with you on the heavy weights!! I’ve lost a lot of my strength since finishing NROL though. I kinda feel like a pansy in the weight room now 😛

Leave a Reply

