Officially Mrs. H

Today was a good day.

First things first.  I slammed 36 ounces of water and went to my ultrasound.  And my lady parts are all normal!  Hooray.  I was very worried about this for the last few weeks and it’s such a relief to know nothing is wrong.

Then I went to officially change my name!

First stop—Social Security.  I was in and out in 15 minutes.  The employees were pleasant.  All in all, a good experience!  My new card should arrive in the mail in 2 weeks or so.

0607006

Then, I went to the DMV.  Again, fairly pleasant, quick experience.  And not a bad picture, either!

0607005

Please note that my birthday is in twelve days.  I LOVE birthdays.

On my way back home, I stopped at the bank and changed the name on my accounts.  Then I drove home and called my credit card companies and changed my name THERE.  Then I tried working out my passport, but I’m going to have to get a new passport photo taken before that’s done.  And then I did my frequent flyer miles (v. important!).

I never realized how much is in a name change, but I’m very happy with my decision.  My new name sounds much nicer, and is less confusing than my old name.  Is it weird getting used to?  Well, yeah.  I feel like I’m in kind of an in-betweeny state of limbo now, because I’m not really sure what name to sign on stuff, since I’m still waiting on new debit cards and stuff.  But, that will fade.

I also decided to make a blackberry/strawberry cobbler.  Instead of running.

0607 003 0607 004Yum.

(I’m still going to get my weekly mileage in for marathon (OMG) training, but I just don’t like running in my neighborhood.  It’s boring, and hilly, and I have to tons of loops.  I’ll hit the treadmill tomorrow.)

In other news, I very much liked reading everyone’s thoughts on melons.  It appears honeydew is not very well-liked.  I do very much like cantaloupe and watermelon, but honeydew just doesn’t do it for me.  Meh.

While we’re on the subject of fruit…what’s your favorite berry?

18 Responses

  1. Strawberries for sure! Although blueberries and raspberries aren’t far behind.

    Glad you had a relatively smooth name-changing process! I’ve been married for 2 years now and there are still a couple of places where I haven’t changed it…oops!

  2. I don’t think I commented on the melon – but I don’t care for honeydew either. No taste, just watery and blah. Strawberries are my favorite berry! I planted my own patch last year and reaped several gallons of delicious, juicy homegrown berries this year. They are so much better fresh picked than from the store!

    You’re lucky you’re switching to a nice, non-confusing last name. My married surname is very German and hard to pronounce. It’s been my name for 7.5 years and I still HATE introducing myself for that reason.

  3. Congrats on the name change! I just had a delicious strawberry and spinach salad, so I’m going to go with stawberries (but it’s hard to pick!).

    • Strawberries and spinach are my FAVORITE salad combo. Yum. Especially with poppy seed dressing!

  4. Any berry is my favorite berry. Easy. lol…

    I love birthdays too!! Do you have any big plans?!

    • It’s still up in the air–should be pretty relaxing though. I’m hoping the birthday fairy brings me a Nook!

  5. I love strawberries and then blueberries come in a close second.

    Happy early birthday!! Any plans for your special (and 1st bday as a wife!) day!?!

    My husband and I celebrated our 1st bdays as a husband and a wife (we are exactly 11 months apart… I am older…hehehe) in a special way.
    Yes, we are tards.

  6. My friend is getting married in 2 weeks and decided not to change her name. I, on the other hand would love to have my bf’s last name someday… ;)

  7. Haha, you’re ahead of me and I’ve been married for 3+ years. I still haven’t changed my passport. :)

    Berries? Definitely strawberries!

  8. I love the swirling effect to white-out information. It’s so creative and doesn’t make things stand out as much as a white blob.

    Well… three and a half years and I THOUGHT I had finally completed the last of my name change paperwork… then I read your post and realized I never changed my passport… ah well, it expires in the next few years so I might just wait.

    Oh and fruit… strawberries through and through. I enjoy blueberries as toppings, bananas for sweetness, nectarines for some fresh change, but strawberries win every battle.

  9. Congratulations on your official name change. I’m impressed that you got so much done this afternoon. I’ve been married 13.5 years and I STILL have my maiden name on my drivers license! In my defense, we’re a military family and can keep FL as our home of record and I’ve had to renew through the mail on more than one occason. Every time I’ve been back to FL, I’ve forgotten to bring my marriage license so I can officially change my name. Slacker.

    As for berries, I love good old strawberries the best.

  10. I truly love all berries, but I would have to say my absolute favorite would be blueberries, followed very closely by blackberries.

    Congrats on the name change!

  11. You got so luck with the SS office. When I went to change my name, I had to wait at least an hour – and I was there when it opened :)
    Your cobbler looks amazing. I’m such a blueberry girl and buy them frozen all year, but I never turn down a good strawberry-picking session. It’s tons of fun to pick your own.

  12. Blueberries – I’d eat them in everything!

  13. Uggh why MN, why? It takes over a month to get a new drivers license. You get papers to carry around in the interim. SO DUMB

    /rant

    It took me a long time to get everything changed over. 3 years later and I still accidentally write or say my maiden name sometimes. The only reason I changed my passport was because it was about to expire and I needed it for a trip.

  14. Absolute favorite is blueberries. Then it’s a tie for raspberries and strawberries, and blackberries coming in last.

  15. Congrats on the name change! I loved changing my name too :)

  16. blueberries. hands down.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

