Four days to go!

Today was a MUCH better day.  Thank goodness!

Late last night, all my stress from yesterday worked itself out.  So, I bounced out of bed today feeling quite bridal and ready for my last day at work as a single person.

I bought a cantaloupe and a huge bag of spinach on Saturday and I’m determined to finish them before we leave tomorrow.  Guess what was for lunch?

0504 001

And a giant, unpictured spinach salad.

At lunch, I ran the 0.4 miles to the gym, ran 3 miles on the treadmill at a halfway decent pace, and ran the 0.4 miles back to work.  It was sweaty, but a good workout.  My gym time this week has really been almost Zen-like—it just feels so good from my head to my toes and so restorative in so many ways.  (Aside from the fact that my shoes make my feet and legs and hips hurt.  But whatever.)

Snacktime?

0504 002

Love Clif Kid bars. 

The Milhouse:

 0504 003

Tonight’s activity?  0504 004 0504 005

PACKING.  Tomorrow morning I’m going to get my orthotics (yay) early in the morning, then we’re putting all our wedding stuff in the car and making the eight hour trip to Chicago.  Tonight…I have to do laundry, check my lists and check them twice, and dump everything into a few suitcases. 

Weather check?

image

I am oddly really excited about the trip.  Tim and I always have fun on long car rides—we both like driving on the highway and we don’t even listen to music, we just talk the whole time.  It’s wonderful. 

I’m not TOTALLY sure how blogging is going to work this weekend—we’re staying at my mom’s house without wireless (sob), but I am going to try to pop into the nearby Starbucks here and there with some quick updates.

The plan right now is to drive tomorrow, and spend Thursday getting our marriage license and meeting with the pastor.  On Friday, we drop all our stuff off at the reception venue, have lunch with friends, and get ready for our rehearsal dinner and do all that.  Then…Saturday…well, you know what happens!

Hopefully I’ll be able to check in from the road. 

What’s your favorite way to travel?  Are you a road trip fan?

20 Responses

  1. Glad you are feeling much better! You’re in the home stretch, enjoy it! :)

    P.S.
    I love road trips. I once took a road trip from Portland, Oregon to Montana by myself! I LOVED IT!

  2. Sending good wedding mojo your way! Enjoy every moment with the new hubs and congrats! :)

  3. Wahoo, I’m glad today was better and you are SO close!

  4. This is so exciting! I’m happy you had a better day today.
    Best wishes for a great trip and a wonderful wedding day!!

  5. Happy Wedding Weekend!!!!

    I used to enjoy road trips before I had kids. My hubby and I are like you and Tim – we do a lot of talking in the car, and not too much listening to music. I guess I’ll find out how road trips go WITH kids this weekend – we’re all driving from St Louis to Indy for a half marathon. I’ll be thinking of you getting ready to be married as I log another 13.1 miles!

  6. Have a wonderful wedding weekend!

    I love road trips. When I was a kid, my parents would pack us into the car every other summer and we’d drive to visit family in Mexico. The husband and I do road trips out West almost every year. And we drove from D.C. to MI for our wedding. I loved every minute of it, and it gave us time to ourselves before the family craziness hit. :)

  7. I don’t mind roadtrips as long as someone else does most of the driving. I get really bored when I am driving and if the other person is sleeping!

    I hope everything goes smoothly over the next couple of days!

  8. Congrats and have a great trip and day!

    I <3 road trips. I have drive across the US 2 or 3 times and plan on doing it again this fall (Seattle to Boston). I usually do it alone, so pack audio books, a full iPod and lots of healthy snacks and water. I stop at everything that looks interesting (Yes, even a building sized cowboy hat) and just enjoy being with myself. :)

  9. Hope that your wedding is perfect!

  10. So glad that you are de-stressed and able to enjoy yourself now :)
    I am a big fan of the Clif kid bars too – have you tried the Blueberry yet? It’s my fave!

  11. HAVE SO MUCH FUN!!

    Matt and I are good at car trips. Like you we talk the whole time. However, he has to drive (I get some bad road rage). And if we run into traffic, I need to stop paying attention or I get anxious and in a BAD MOOD!

    Can’t wait to see pics!

  12. I love road trips. Especially because FI and I are the same way, we talk the whole time! Hope everything goes smoothly with the wedding and everything. Just think that after this weekend you will be a wife. Ok here’s a gratuitous squeeeeeee!

  13. Have a wonderful time! I am so excited for you. My wedding is the week after. It’s been so nice reading your blog. I’ve been going through some of the same things/emotions. Nice to know I’m not the only one. Enjoy!

  14. I like road trips, except my boyfriend does not talk at all while he’s driving – so I usually sleep a lot of the time.

  15. Have SUCH a good trip! What are you guys doing for a honeymoon? I do love car trips with my FI – but he won’t let me drive his nice car on most of them, so I end up falling asleep :) I’m a bad passenger and a very good driver! He is letting me drive his car home alone from VT after our shower though. Enough about me! HAPPY WEDDING COUNTDOWN!

  16. Have a beautiful wedding and a great trip! Congratulations!

  17. i dont’ know you, but i’m so incredibly excited for you! you have helped ease my stresses as i plan for my wedding.

  18. I remember the week before vividly! So much excitement. Have a wonderful next few days – and enjoy every second.

    I secretly love long car rides with my husband because I have his full attention (no Sportscenter in the car!) and we usually talk the whole time.

  19. I just got back from my own honeymoon, and wanted to wish you a wonderful, wonderful day. As someone newly on “the other side,” I want to say that these last few days are a whirlwind, but once the party train leaves the station, there’s is some major awesomeness ahead.

    Congrats and enjoy =)

  20. Brie!! I am amidst yet another moving mess. If for some reason my Google Reader remains closed over the next few days – I want to say CONGRATS, have a blast, and squeal excitedly for you!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

