Good eats

I feel like I spent all day in the kitchen today!  But it felt GREAT.  I’ve been gone from home and busy the last several weekends, and it was nice to do some baking and cooking again.  I can’t wait to use all my new pots and pans, though!

Lunch was leftovers from last night.  I’m usually a plate cleaner, so I’m glad I saved half this time!  (It was shell pasta with marinara sauce and about half a meatball.)  Please note the floor plan for our reception in the background!

0425 001

Re: the seating chart.  We’re still waiting to hear from ten people, but our count right now is 94 yes, 99 no.  We got a surprise “yes” from one of Tim’s old college friends today, which I’m really happy about.  I’m antsy to hear back from everyone else so we can run some hard numbers and figure out our final upgrades!

I stopped at the grocery store for a few things, and they were out of my beloved cantaloupe.  But, giant pineapples were on sale for $2.99, so I risked it!  I got a ton of chopped up fruit out of it for us to munch on all week.  It was really good!

 0425 002

I also had to do some baking.  I work at a university, and during finals time, the faculty and staff all bring in treats for the stressed students.  I decided to bake two things, and send some to work with Tim.

Peanut butter brownies… 0425 003

And the return of the infamous cake balls!

0425 007

All day I simmered a giant roast in the crockpot.  This couldn’t be easier—about a two pound roast, some beef broth, a few cloves of garlic, and let it go on high for about 6 hours.  Pull the roast apart with forks as soon as possible!  We made sammiches out of it.  This was Tim’s.  (Mine was smaller, on a sandwich thin!)

0425 005

And now we have dinner for at least the next two nights!

I decided to be a little creative with the side dish.  The other day when I went out with my boss, we had wonderful Portabella “fries.”  I tried to make my own version today, and it turned out pretty good!  We only had regular mushrooms, and they were about to turn, so I’m glad I got to use them.  I didn’t measure—I just grilled them on a griddle with a little EVOO until they softened up, then dipped them in an egg wash, then dipped them in a mixture of Italian breadcrumbs, whole wheat flour, garlic powder, parmesan cheese, salt, and pepper and put them back on the griddle until they’d crisped up a bit..  They turned out great!  Tim even asked for seconds.   I’ll definitely make these again!  I love all things mushroom.

0425 006

I also managed to finish up a last minute DIY project for the wedding.

0425 004

Directions: raid Michael’s cheap flip flops.  Buy lots of ribbon.  Remove ugly tags and tie together with pretty ribbon.  Spray paint clearance basket from Michaels.  Attach ribbon and sign with glue dots.  Enjoy.

I don’t know why I did this other than that I think it’s cute. 

Anyway.  I’ve got a fridge full of delicious shredded beef, pineapple chunks, and sweets.  I’m a happy camper.  Normally, I’d at least try some of the sweet stuff, but I’m on my absolute best behavior until the wedding—it’ll be a scoop of fro-yo for dessert for me tonight!  Also, I’m happy to announce I’ve been coffee and Diet Coke free for…four days now, I think?  Not going to lie, I’m craving both here and there, but it helps not keeping it in the house.

I got really excited today when I realized that by the time our gallon of milk expires…we’ll be married.  See?

0425 008

I’m off to finish getting ready for my last full work week before the wedding—we’re officially getting married next week, y’all!  I can’t wait to get back to the gym this week—I hope hope hope my leg feels better so I can get some running in.  I feel lazy!

What things do you bulk cook? I love making a full roast or chicken on Sundays to eat all week, and usually cut up fresh fruit too.

10 Responses

  1. Enjoy the next couple of weeks! It will go by so fast.

  2. Exciting!! Your in the home stretch now. ;)

  3. Yeah, yeah, you’re almost there! How exciting!

    I have pinapple envy – I’m allergic but LOVE it.

  4. So much yummyness! The flip flop basket looks so fantastic! I’m addicted to albemarle swash right now. :)

    I need to get around to using our crock pot. I love pot roast!

  5. That flip flop basket is DIVINE! I adore it!

    Exciting stuff one week to go!!! I had a similar feeling at work the other day putting something in my diary for November thinking- I WILL BE MARRIED BY THEN!!

    Julia
    British Bride

  6. Hey Brie! Random question – what kind of paper are you printing all of your signs (like the one on the basket in this post), programs, etc on? Can you use a regular household printer? Next on my list is all the paper stuff.. I get a headache just thinking about it.

    • I ordered all my cardstock and paper from anchorpaper.com and printed it on my regular old home inkjet printer! The white paper is from their Classic Linen line and the aqua and gold are from their Stardreams line. They are great!

  7. Cake baaaalls. We don’t give our students treats here. Your university sounds so much nicer :) I also never use my crockpot, and I reallyreally should. A roast sounds so amazing right now. I did however bake up 5 chicken breasts last night. Now they’re sliced up and in my freezer :)

    NEXT WEEK. Crazy.

  8. I love the comment about the milk- I’ve done that my whole life! (By the time this milk expires, I’ll be… on vacation… back to school etc). Enjoy your last few days!

  9. i can’t believe your wedding is SO SOON! i’ve been reading for a while and it’s just been such a cool thing to see your journey up to the wedding day thus far. you’re going to have a BLAST and i absolutely can’t wait to see pictures :)

    i love bulk-cooking side dishes. Then i can freeze individual portions in baggies to go with whatever meat or protein i can find on sale any given week!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

