Wedding Weekend Extravaganza Recap: Part Two

Sunday afternoon was my bridal shower.  We woke up early and drove down to the country club where it was being held…but we definitely made a Dunkin’ Donuts pit stop on the way.  (Have I mentioned how much I love DD coffee?)  I had coffee and a donut to get the requisite sugar and caffeine pumping to make me EXTRA cheery.

My wonderful aunts and bridesmaids had planned a wonderful tea party themed shower.  See?

bridalshowerbachelorette 026

The place settings had a small bag with homemade tea bags, honey sticks, fancy sugar cubes, and cinnamon sticks in them.  So cute!

The teapots made perfect centerpieces.

bridalshowerbachelorette 027

All the teacups were mismatched.  This was mine!  There were candles to burn in the teacups for after the shower.

bridalshowerbachelorette 036

Everyone worked really hard to set up.  I felt so useless, but they kept telling me that I should just stand there and look pretty!  

bridalshowerbachelorette 024

So I took pictures instead.

 bridalshowerbachelorette 025

   bridalshowerbachelorette 028

True story: my cousin/bridesmaid, Brandy, made the infamous pudding shots to bring to my bachelorette party and brought them ALL the way from Indianapolis to Chicago…only to forget them in my aunt’s freezer!

But they made an appearance at the bridal shower.  Mudslide and butter crown shots….I had one of each!  (They are delicious, but very, very weak.  Don’t worry.  I was not drunk at my shower!)

bridalshowerbachelorette 029

And check out the gorgeous cake.

 bridalshowerbachelorette 031

The tables looked so cute!  The tea party theme really was an adorable idea.  I am NOT that creative at party planning!

bridalshowerbachelorette 033

For the favors, my aunt stamped tiny gable boxes with our monogram and filled them with my favorite homemade caramel corn.  Yum!

bridalshowerbachelorette 091 bridalshowerbachelorette 102

And some family pictures!

This is me, my mom, and my sister:

bridalshowerbachelorette 032

(There was also a kind of creepy bride doll as decoration.  On the right.)

And me with our flower girl, Maddie:

bridalshowerbachelorette 035  

She was absolutely the show stealer of the day.  She proudly announced, “I’m going to help with presents, because I’m THREE!”   So cute!

The food was good—there was salad, chicken marsala, green beans, and potatoes—but the star, of course, was the cake.

bridalshowerbachelorette 037

I. Love. Cake.

I wish I could have brought some home to Tim, because this was fantastic.

I will spare you the 50 different pictures of me opening gifts and give you the highlight reel instead.  See my little helper?

bridalshowerbachelorette 039  bridalshowerbachelorette 044

I love Maddie’s face here.

 bridalshowerbachelorette 046

 bridalshowerbachelorette 047

bridalshowerbachelorette 068bridalshowerbachelorette 075

These next two pictures require explanation.  One year, on Christmas Eve, my uncles had a few drinks and then decided to go shopping for stocking stuffers.  They came home with underwear for everybody.  (This probably started, oh, when I was in fifth or sixth grade.)  Every year, since then, I get a pair of underwear from them as a joke gift for every holiday.  (Yes, a pair of underwear fell out of my law school graduation card in front of Tim’s parents.)  So, naturally, at my bridal shower…

bridalshowerbachelorette 077 bridalshowerbachelorette 080 Bride panties.  Naturally.  My family is crazy, but awesome.

Anyway, I opened gifts for a long, long time, and there are lots more pictures, but I’ll spare you the rest.   It was a great day and I’m so glad everyone could come celebrate me.  I cannot believe how awesome and generous people have been to us through this whole wedding thing!

All in all, we got several of our place settings and flatware settings, our entire bedding set, pots and pans, a food processor, tons of kitchen gadgets, some gift cards…I can’t even remember all of it.  Our registries took a pretty hard hit!

Packing, of course, was an issue.  I could only bring some stuff back in my luggage to Kansas City—the rest is living at my mom’s house until we drive up for the wedding.  We’re traditionalists and waiting to use any gifts until after we’re married, so it’s not a big deal, but I still can’t wait to show Tim everything!  This stuff I left at my mom’s house:

 

bridalshowerbachelorette 089

bridalshowerbachelorette 093

And I packed as much as I could.

 bridalshowerbachelorette 090  

My aunt, the crafty lady she is, brought me a few other things for the wedding.

Backstory on this one: my mom’s father, my Grandpa O, and I were very close.  He died shortly after my father.  He was known for always wearing bright red socks, every single day, even in a suit!  When my cousin Jason got married, he wore red socks with his tux to honor my grandpa.  I wanted to do something to honor him, too, but I don’t think red socks would work with my shoes, so….we dreamed up a red sock garter:

bridalshowerbachelorette 088

It’s actually made from one of my grandpa’s socks.  We’re not doing a garter toss or anything, but I love the idea.

She also brought our wedding thank you notes that she made for us:

  bridalshowerbachelorette 101

Aren’t they pretty?  She’s such a crafting rockstar.

After the shower, we spent Sunday night having pizza with my family and packing things up.  I flew out to Kansas City Monday afternoon, and now I’m home playing catch-up!  There’s a lot to do before work tomorrow.

Re: running.  My body is not feeling great after last week’s disaster run.  My left knee feels funny, and my hips are still kind of sore and creaky.  I also have two appointments after work this week, so I’m just going to do what I can this week.  I’m planning a long run Friday, and 5-6 miles tomorrow, but I think what’s best for my body is to start my taper a little early.  I’ve already exceeded Hal’s half marathon novice plan, mileage-wise, so I feel okay with this.

Anyway, it was a lovely weekend.  I missed Tim terribly and I’m glad to be home, but I had so much fun!

What’s the best gift you’ve ever gotten?  Check in tomorrow to find out what my absolute favorite shower gift was! 

3 Responses

  1. My favorite gift we got at our shower was our air popcorn popper – I can’t wait to try it out. My fiance’s favorite was our griddle so he can have more space to make his famous blueberry buckwheat pancakes!

  2. Looks like a great shower, I love the tribute to you grandfather :-)

  3. Nice gift pile! What a fun party. The best gift I ever got was my iphone. My boyfriend gave it to me for X-mas and I LOVE it. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

