I want to GLOW!

Hi, friends!  Look what I did last night:

0302 002

I taped my foot using the Second Skin gel pad and moleskin thing.  It was nice, and actually stuck, but after tonight’s run it was falling off.  Sigh.

This morning I was on the road for work.  I was waxing poetic about my snack so I took a picture.

 0302 003

A brown banana, battered by the contents of my purse, and my beloved Camelbak of water.  Aren’t the ugliest bananas always the best?  And I love this bottle.  Twas a good snack!

After work I hit the gym for what was supposed to be 3 miles and cross training.  But…confession.  I have really been slacking on the cross training and strength aspects of my half mary training plan.  As my mileage gets into the 20+ miles/week range, I just don’t have the energy or desire to do anything but run.  I’ve attempted a bit of cross training the last few weeks, but it’s just been half-assed and I feel like I’m wasting my time.  I want all of my energy to go into running for the next weeks leading up to my half.  So, that’s that.

Anyway.  Ran 3 miles in 28:15 thusly:

  • 0-0.5 miles: 6.1 mph
  • 0.5-1.0 miles: 6.2 mph
  • 1.0-1.5 miles: 6.3 mph
  • 1.5-2.0 miles: 6.4 mph
  • 2.0-2.5 miles: 6.5 mph
  • 2.5-2.75 miles: 6.6 mph
  • 2.75-3.0 miles: 7.0 mph

I am really loving negative splits lately.  They are challenging and keep me from getting bored towards the end of a run!

Unfortunately, more trouble with my shoes.  They were better than yesterday, but there was still a nagging rubbing on my right arch where Blistersquatch’s footprint remains.  Sigh.  I will not give up on this.

On my way home I could not get thoughts of a green monster out of my head.  I haven’t had one for AGES, but I’ve been seeing Chocolate Cherry Bomb Shakes on Ryan and Caitlin’s blog all week and it’s been calling my name.  I’m going to make one tonight to bring in my lunch tomorrow.  I will report back then!

0302 004

I also picked up some makeup removal wipes so I can take my makeup off before I head to the gym after work.  Part of my grocery stop inspiration was the recent discussion of Project Glow I’ve seen revived on some blogs.  I want my skin to look great for the wedding, so I’m planning to incorporate more greens and antioxidants into my diet, continue drinking tons of water, and stopping my bad habit of wearing makeup to the gym!  I don’t have bad skin now—I only get the occasional pimple, but my skin is rather uneven, I’ve got some undereye circles going on, and I have some blackheads on my nose that I’d like to get rid of.  (Maybe I’ll even take a before photo tomorrow morning!)  My goal: glow so hard I look like one of those blue cat-people in Avatar.

Anyway, I got a text today that one of our invitations had gotten all the way to Washington, D.C., so looks like word is officially out.  Hopefully we’ll get our first RSVPs back by the end of the week!  (My mom mailed hers today.)

What do you do to keep your skin healthy and radiant? 

6 Responses

  1. Ugly bananas ARE the best- so true. I don’t blame you for slacking on the cross training, thats a lot of running. I think it’s okay to listen to your body sometimes :)

  2. Great post! Sorry to hear that the monster blister is still causing problem. About the skin treatment, being a man, I scrub with a scrunchy and body wash. Not the best formula for glowing skin. :)
    Happy running,
    Rundad

  3. I love bananas that are just getting all brown and speckled on the outside – perfect!

    I don’t really have a skin routine, but I’d be interested to hear how this one works for you!

  4. Hey Brie!
    Saw this post and thought I would comment. I would stay away from the St Ives scrub. I used to use it all the time, but it may be too harsh. Instead, I would try the Sugar face scrub by Fresh and/or their Umbrian Clay bar. A little pricier, but it’s all natural and I swear by it! Plus, if you don’t like it, Sephora allows returns.

    http://sephora.com/browse/brand_hierarchy.jhtml?brandId=Fresh&categoryId=C151

    Also, as far as foods that make you glow, I’ve read a few different articles, and I would recommend the following:

    -blueberries/kiwi/orange/strawberries
    -sweet potatoes
    -kale or spinach
    -lobster or salmon
    -quinoa
    -kefir
    -tomatoes or carrots
    -chia seeds or flax seeds
    -artichoke
    -almonds/walnuts

    Also, I bought a clairasonic. It took about a month until I saw results, but I love it!

    Good luck!

    • Hmm, good to know! I’m not using the St. Ives–it’s made me break out/dry up before. I use Proactiv for now, but am thinking about switching.

  5. I also *love* skin care products by Fresh. I use their Soy Face Cleanser and Soy Face Cream. They’re pricey, but they last forever. Love.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

