Oh the weather outside is frightful…

I started the day off right today.  I finally bought a foam roller online!  Yay.  I can’t wait to roll myself silly when I get it.

Today was a short work day!  Shortly after lunch, snow started falling pretty heavily.  My boss is super-conscious of winter driving, so she left, and our secretary left, and she told me to leave early if I wanted.  So, I finished what I was working on and left too!

I couldn’t let Hal down, though, so I bolted to the gym for a quick three miles.

I was in the zone today and pounded out a solid 3 miles in 29:00ish.  I made sure to tie my shoes REALLY tight which helped with the blister issue, but it still hurt a little.  I did catch this program on the TV at the gym.  It was something about the nation’s obesity epidemic, but I thought it was a little morbid that they illustrated it with a visit to a company that manufactures coffins for the morbidly obese.  (Interestingly enough, they were called Goliath Coffins or something.  Yikes.)

Then I drove home.  It was a nightmare.  It took me an hour and a half instead of the usual half hour.  It was snowy and icy and awful.

But, I made it safe and sound and now I’m relaxing at home.  I’m so glad I’m home a little early today–yesterday I spent all night rounding up addresses for wedding invitations, which is no. fun. at. all.  I will be so glad when these invitations are in the mail!  (But then, you know, the RSVP headache starts, so…oh well.)

It’s still snowing and I can’t say I’d mind a snow day tomorrow…we’ll see!

For fun, a gratuitous cat and dog picture:

What are your feelings towards snow?  Love it, hate it, neutral? I generally don’t mind it, I just don’t like unsafe roads!

13 Responses

  1. Yes, I’m so ready for these invitations to be in the mail. I’m shooting for sending them out Monday, so not much longer to go!

    They’re talking about that it might snow in Florida this week! I’m not even sure what to think about that.

  2. I hate, hate, hate, HATE snow and cold weather. White knuckle driving makes me crazy, and it seems to be completely optional to clear the roads here.

    Ugh, winter. What a nightmare!

  3. I. hate. snow. I hate walking in it, shoveling it, when it gets on my wrist in that exposed part between my mitten and jacket cuff. Its only saving grace is that it’s sometimes pretty when it falls. But then it gets really gross once dirt and gravel get into it. Oh, and snow melts into slush. Which is just as bad, if not worse than snow itself.

    Wow, that was a mini-rant. Sorry Brie!

  4. I’m sure this is the silliest question ever… but what do you do with a foam roller? Is for the back?

  5. I’m originally from Ohio but live in North Carolina so I miss the snow… But when I go to visit I’m sick of it quickly. It really is pretty though :)

  6. I like snow as long as I don’t have to walk or drive in it.

  7. I definitely have to say that the guest list and address collection has been our biggest headache thus far. How about I had to be the one to give my future MIL her own brother’s address after I got it through Facebook messaging! Geesh!

    I hate snow – says the girl with the tattoo of a snowflake on her calf. I grew up in the snow but I left VT 10 years ago for that reason. I don’t actually hate the snow – just the accompanying COLD!

  8. I hear you about tracking down addresses, I’m doing that now for my save the dates, so annoying! I live in NY and despise the snow and the cold. I don’t think I would hate it as much if I didn’t have to drive in it.

  9. You are going to love the foam roller! It is painful on the IT Band, but in a good way somehow. It’s amazing how much tension you don’t even know you are holding in those areas.

    I hate snow. Ugh. Driving in it, seeing it, walking in it. Miserable.

  10. I loved snow until I started driving. Now I hate winter, minus the first snowfall. Everything is so peaceful and beautiful during the first snow.

  11. I love the snow, but it doesn’t snow where I live, so I have only seen it twice. One year we plan on heading north and having a white christmas!

  12. Aww! I love the animals pics! :)

    I am the same as you with the snow – just hate the dangerous conditions and how it can ruin plans.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

