Fall is here!

Well, almost.

I am generally not all that keen on fall.  I know a lot of people love pumpkin pie, and cinnamon, and Halloween, and falling leaves, and gourds and stuff, but I do not like any of those things.  No joke: I started crying once when my mom was pushing us to have a beautiful fall wedding, with dark reds and oranges and browns and pumpkins.  I believe I used the phrase, “I don’t want any bleeping pumpkins at our wedding!”

That said, I do generally like the mild fall weather.  T and I were ranking our favorite to least favorite seasons the other day, and summer was definitely my least favorite, with spring on top, and fall slighly ahead of winter.  And I do like the plethora of delicious apples and pears that show up in grocery stores.  So, I decided to make applesauce!

T is a big applesauce fan.  He packs it in his lunch several times a week and makes funny happy faces while eating it.  I like it fine.  Again, like with pizza…he likes his smooth and cinnamon-free, whereas I prefer mine chunky and cinnamony.

First, I bought a dozen Gala apples at the store (for about $4):

nos 002

Then, I peeled them:

nos 004

And cored them and cut them into small pieces.  And broke the garbage disposal.  Cores go in the trash can, friends!:

nos 005

I added half a cup of water, and let it simmer on medium heat for about an hour, stirring occasionally, until it reduced itself into applesauce!

nos 006

Since T wanted his smooth, and I wanted cinnamon in mine, I split the batch roughly in half.  I stirred some cinnamon into mine:

nos 010

And then I put his in our Magic Bullet, which made it smooth and almost creamy in texture:

nos 009

All in all, this is what my afternoon yielded!  T’s is in small cups, ready to take to work:

nos 008

And, wow, is this stuff good.  Apples, water, and cinnamon–that’s it.  No sugar added (or needed)!  I’ll definitely be making this again soon.

I rested from exercise yesterday and today.  My legs are quite sore from lifting on Friday, to the point where they’ve actually been cramping up–yuck!  Any suggestions?

How do you like your applesauce?  Chunky, smooth, cinnamon, no cinnamon?

5 Responses

  1. Wow, I didn’t know it was that easy to make applesauce. I love the stuff!
    Thanks for the very easy suggestion.
    Martica
    http://martica45.wordpress.com

  2. So easy. I’m going to have to try that out.

  3. You are totally my American twin! I’m not a huge fall person either, hands down spring is my fave :) I think it’s because spring signifies the end of winter, whereas fall just means the worst is yet to come :P

    I’ve never made applesauce before, I didn’t know it was THAT easy! Wow, that totally justifies buying a giant bag of apples the next time I’m at the market. Thanks!

  4. [...] probably won’t be eating a lot of them though. I bought a big bag which is destined for apple sauce and other baking [...]

  5. [...] all that muffin business was going down, I was also working on some of Brie’s applesauce. Three ingredients: apples, water, cinnamon. Doesn’t get much easier than that! Well, actually, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

